1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can't get adb shell to format sdcard to expand internal memory???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by klemat63, Oct 3, 2017.

  1. klemat63

    klemat63 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016

    Apr 18, 2016
    12
    0
    15
    I have a S7 Edge and my internal memory is down to only 1.7 gig. So I bought a 64 gig sdcard and installed it in my device. I have installed the newest android studio with sdk and set up adb shell. In command prompt I can get adb shell to recognize the device. I have debugging selected on the phone and I get the commands to work in adb shell but no luck. First I format the sdcard then I give the command {sm partition <disk> private} and then {reboot} and it reboots phone but the phone doesn't show internal storage and sdcard combined. Any ideas or suggestions? Any help would be great? Thanks!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,313
    657
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
  3. klemat63

    klemat63 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016

    Apr 18, 2016
    12
    0
    15
    Thanks for the link! But when I run the program it says can't find device?
     
  4. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,313
    657
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    Earlier the device was detected is it still detected or does it say unauthorized in cmd when you type adb devices?
     
  5. klemat63

    klemat63 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016

    Apr 18, 2016
    12
    0
    15
    File explorer finds the device...and under c: \Users\Matt
     
  6. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,313
    657
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    Huh? File explorer and command prompt are totally different things. You can run the commands manually.
     
  7. klemat63

    klemat63 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016

    Apr 18, 2016
    12
    0
    15
    Yeah for some reason, when I do the commands manually it doesn't work either. But the device shows up in command prompt. Maybe I don't have adb shell installed properly? Does this not work with certain sdcards or updates on the phone?
     
  8. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,313
    657
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    I know there are some devices that it doesn't work for not sure which ones.
    I run the commands manually. The .bat file runs so fast i can't see what it says so I'd rather see errors or output.
     
  9. klemat63

    klemat63 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016

    Apr 18, 2016
    12
    0
    15
    When I run the program they have you download from XDA, it says 'The system cannot find the path specified. ERROR: device not found.' Any thoughts? Thanks for helping me out by the way!
     

Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge

The Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge launched in 2016 and was one of two of Samsung's flagship devices. The S7 Edge features a 5.5-inch display with a resolution of 2560 x 1440, 4GB of RAM, 323GB of storage, and 12MP main camera sensor.

Share This Page

Loading...