1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can't get calls from Verizon landlines

Discussion in 'T-Mobile' started by Drummerdroid, Sep 9, 2012.

  1. Drummerdroid

    Drummerdroid Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,903
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I got myself a Nexus and just recently signed onto the T-Mobile $30 prepaid web special. I am having a problem with two different Verizon landlines that get fast busy signals when they try to call me. I can however call those numbers from my T-Mobile phone. Verizon tech support says the problem is outside of their system and to take it up with TMo.
    I called TMo tech support and explained the problem which was an ordeal in and of itself. All they wanted to do was blame the phone. Finally they said the problem would be fixed in 72 hours. Its been over 48 hours now with no resolution. Has anyone ever heard of this kind of problem?
    Thanks...
     

    Advertisement

  2. LoyalServant

    LoyalServant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,050
    267
    163
    Male
    Programmer
    Columbia, SC
    Was your number ported?
     
  3. Drummerdroid

    Drummerdroid Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,903
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    No, it's a new T-Mobile number.
     
  4. LoyalServant

    LoyalServant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,050
    267
    163
    Male
    Programmer
    Columbia, SC
    Interesting.
    Can you get calls from other carriers or is it just Verizon that is not working?
     
  5. Drummerdroid

    Drummerdroid Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,903
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I can't receive calls from my own or my parent's Verizon landlines yet I can get through to those lines from my T-Mobile phone. Those are the only problems that I'm aware of so far.
     
  6. aurora40

    aurora40 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    376
    62
    53
    Virginia
    If you aren't committed to the number (it's new), maybe get them to change it to another one? Can non-Verizon landlines ring your phone?
     
  7. Drummerdroid

    Drummerdroid Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,903
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I am committed to the number since notifying all contacts about it. As far as I know the problem is only with Verizon landlines. It's now over a week since talking to a TMo tech who said the problem would be resolved in 72 hours.
    How do you get these people to do anything? I'm beginning to regret leaving VM.
     
  8. Drummerdroid

    Drummerdroid Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,903
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I spoke to someone very high up in Verizon mgt. He said it is a trunk route problem and that the problem is with T-Mobile. I trust his answer since He is a friend of mine. Now I have to continue dealing with the ineffective tech support at T-Mobile. I called them yesterday on my cell phone and they said that they wanted to call me back on my other line. They never did. I will probably send a letter their corporate office if I can find an address.
     
  9. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012

    Aug 31, 2012
    283
    58
    73
    The number of "TMO CS sucks" comments I'm seeing lately is somewhat disquieting.

    Then you call them back and immediately insist on escalation.

    In the meantime you receive no calls from VZ landline customers?

    Jim
     
  10. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,086
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,086
    1,468
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    I've no idea where you are in the world, but here where I am the physical T-Mobile stores are almost as bad as Starbucks (ie; you can find one just about every mile down the road). If you can find one in your area then I think you may have better luck.

    When it comes to the important things, I prefer to talk to someone face to face where I can hold them to what they promise. Especially if you can get a hold of a store manager as they're more likely to escalate things for you. Personally, I've found T-Mobile store employees to be extremely pleasant and willing to bend over backwards to make you happy.
     
  11. Drummerdroid

    Drummerdroid Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,903
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Well, I've spoken with TMO support a few more times. The first rep insisted that I must have had those numbers blocked on my phone and wanted me to bring my sim to a physical TMO store to try in another phone which would prove that I had call blocking on. However, I read the manual and my phone does not have call blocking capability.

    So I called back later and got a very helpful rep who wanted to look into the situation and promised to call back. She did and said the issue should be fixed in 72 hours. That's what I was originally told and nothing was done so we'll see.

    I live in the Boston area so my next step will be to visit a store if needed.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...