1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Cant get internet to work on wifi networks outside of house

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by glamgirl0201, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. glamgirl0201

    glamgirl0201 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    96
    2
    16
    Marietta,Ga
    wifi at the house works fine. its secured with a wpa/wpa2(i think thats what its called) but whenever im at school or work it shows its connected to the network but the internet doesnt work
     

    Advertisement

  2. captainbob

    captainbob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    62
    3
    16
    You probably don't have the password to allow you into the Wifi system for the location you are in.
     
  3. glamgirl0201

    glamgirl0201 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    96
    2
    16
    Marietta,Ga
    No the only one that requires a password is the house one which works fine. The other 2 (at my school and job) are free for use by the public and dont require passwords
     
  4. tomyellowblue

    tomyellowblue Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    11
    3
    16
    Just a guess, but are you just trying to use email or some other non-browser app? Many times with free networks you have to agree to their terms and conditions before it will actually let any traffic through.

    Open up a web browser and try to go somewhere (say google.com) and it will probably bring up a web page where you have to "accept" something. After that email and other apps should work fine too.

    I wouldn't be surprised if you have to do this every time you join the network.
     
  5. glamgirl0201

    glamgirl0201 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    96
    2
    16
    Marietta,Ga
    No i dont think its that because i got it to connect to my school's before(i had used the some option in wifi to confige it) but ever since it wont work. i think this phone is just being weird
     

Share This Page

Loading...