1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't get my captivate to connect to my PC

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nmazzeo, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. nmazzeo

    nmazzeo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hey everyone!

    Just got my captivate yesterday and it isn't recognized by my PC at all. When I plug it in I've tried all three options (Kies, Media Player & Mass Storage).

    I've even tried a common fix which I've seen which is to unmount internal SD card, reformat it, and then mount it again. Strangely enough when I format the internal SD card, everything is still on my phone...apps, contacts, etc. Then it doesn't even give me the option to mount it back again, it's as if it mounts it back for me automatically.

    I've even seen some fixes about clearing the cache and stuff, but I can't even try that cause when I do select Mass Storage option, my PC never even recognize it. It's as if nothing is connected.

    I have yet to try uninstalling and reinstalling Kies and I'm currently running Windows 7.

    It's a great phone so far so I'd love to know what I need to do in order to get it synced with my PC! Any help would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tmle5usnr

    tmle5usnr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011

    Jan 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I'm suddenly having the same issue and am wondering if some sort of update happened overnight that disallows connection temporarily until FroYo comes out? I know that's stretching things a bit...
     
  3. TREVOR71

    TREVOR71 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I'm having the same problems, and I'm obviously not the only person who can't get their phone to mount. Around 1/25/2011 it stopped mounting for me, and I'm not sure why. I've eliminated my computer and the cord, which leaves my phone. I had it rooted, unrooted it, reformatted the sd card, everything that I've read, and it still wont' mount. Has anyone found a solution? Thanks!
     
  4. brento73

    brento73 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have a similar issue. Not only does my computer not find it, if I do try to mount my phone, no other usb storage devices will work until I unplug the phone.
     
  5. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    I too cant get my pc to recognize my phone now. Was working fine yesterday
     
  6. sero

    sero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    45
    2
    16
    Texas
    the option doesnt even pop up on my phone for mass storage, kies, etc when i plug it in :/
     
  7. mmoffitt9241

    mmoffitt9241 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    50
    2
    16
    I was just getting this issue too...tried restarting phone, restarting computer and switching USB ports...it was charging but not seeing the phone...I switched my data cable and it fixed it...Not sure what's wrong with the other cable but it seems to only charge...the stock cable that came with the phone worked first time...might be an option for everyone else to try.
     

Share This Page

Loading...