1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can't get Wifi to work after ROM upgrade

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lupine_smurf, Apr 27, 2011.

  1. Lupine_smurf

    Lupine_smurf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    6
    0
    5

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,017
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,017
    23,882
    3,118
    Scotland
    Try disabling the Wifi timeout policy?
     
  3. Lupine_smurf

    Lupine_smurf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    6
    0
    5

    Okay thats worth looking into thank's.
     
  4. Helenaviertel

    Helenaviertel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    3
    1
    6
    Hi! I am having the same problem and don't know what to do. It tries to contect to my wi-fi network at home but then it says this network is not in use, although it is and it works.

    My wifi timeout policy is set to "never".

    I followed the same guide as Lupine_smurf.

    Can anyone help me? Thank you very much
     
  5. dannymur

    dannymur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    361
    153
    68
    Male
    Ireland's Lake Land
    Has this happened always since you got the phone?

    Have you flashed new ROM recently, if yes, what ROM?

    If yes, did you wipe, as outlined here

    Was it OK on Stock ROM? (If you ever had it on Stock).

    Is it an Orange San Francisco, or some other Blade version?
     
    Helenaviertel likes this.
  6. Helenaviertel

    Helenaviertel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    3
    1
    6
    Hi,

    thanks for your reply. Yes, I have an Orange San Francisco, wifi used to work before flashing it, I flashed it following this guide, I have the Swedish Spring RLS5 ROM and I haven't done anything that is not said on the guide I mentioned.

    Should I flash it again, wiping before I do? [sorry if I talk nonsense, it is the first time I do this].

    Thanks a lot!
     
  7. dannymur

    dannymur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    361
    153
    68
    Male
    Ireland's Lake Land
    So sorry Helena?.....I should have replied sooner, but other stuff, ya know.

    What you say, that's not nonsense :)

    I see you have Swedish Spring RLS5, which is what I have, you still GEN 1?

    I am on SS5/GEN 2 still, and have tried out 2.3 ROMS, like Ginger Stir Fry, and Blue Ginger......which is why I went GEN 2....CM7 next, as wbaw says, on MoDaCo and XDA, best ROM for Blade...

    but none I have tried compete with this ROM (IMHO).

    No point with WiFi policy, if you can't connect....so leave to one side.

    If WiFi worked before (on Android 2.1?), then no reason it won't work with this ROM, the only problem with wi-fi on SS5 is the disconnect when screen off, and needing to reconnect......Blade WiFi fix will help with this.

    Are you using WPA2-PSK(Pre shared key), and you have set up your encryption key OK on Blade? Or WEP, same procedure, less secure....

    Have you used MAC Address Filtering in Router......you MAC address would need to be added to Router...Settings/About Phone/Status/Wi-Fi MAC address. You would know if you enabled this in Router.

    Is DHCP enabled in Router, for giving out dynamic IP address to devices, including Phone(s).

    If other devices work OK, like Laptop, Desktop, etc, have you tried connecting to WiFi in friends, neighbours, ec.....just to rule phone/router in or out.

    What do you do in wireless & settings/wi-fi settings, wi-fi checked? uncheck, wait, then turn on(check) wi-fi, you see turning on, connecting, obtaining IP address?

    on your network ssid in Wi-fi networks, what status shows? disabled/secured with ??? or what.

    If all fails, try assigning Static IP to phone, from Router available address's, i.e not those in DHCP list.

    Maybe, check DNS settings in router....if you know how, needs explanation depending on Router, your ISP, etc. (There are free DNS settings from Open DNS and Google, but getting too complicated.)

    WiFi Analyser and WiFi Manager can help.....but I know you need Internet Connection to download from market.

    Last resort, you could re-flash....

    make Nandroid backup in Recovery 1st....then you can always restore your current set-up.

    back-up your SD Card contents to PC, total, including all hidden folders and files.

    If you have Titanium backup, use it to backup apps...read up on best backup strategy...Google is your friend!!!!

    Download SS from modaco.

    Copy the zip or zips to your SD card. Make sure you check the MD5's.

    I use this on Windows: MD5 Checksum Verifier - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com

    Make sure you wipe fully in Clockwork, and only use 3.0.1.4 or less if you are GEN1, I am talking about ROM Manager and ClockworkMod Recovery here.

    No wipe/No whine....is the usual Devs reply if you don't

    Use this guide: Best clean up before flashing ROMs - Android @ MoDaCo

    Let me know how you get on!!!

    Other Android Network Tools:

    Network Info II

    Network Discovery

    Overlook Fing
     
    Helenaviertel likes this.
  8. Helenaviertel

    Helenaviertel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    3
    1
    6
    Thanks a lot, Dannymur! It started to work a week ago, just like that O_O

    Thank you very much!
     
    dannymur likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...