1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

cant install any ROMs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by okeytokey, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. okeytokey

    okeytokey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    23
    0
    15
    i have rooted my s2 today and confirmed its rooted but am not able to install roms from rom manager , any help appreciated
     

    Advertisement

  2. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    6,019
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,019
    3,844
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Rom manager doesn't work very well with the gs2 so use the cwm app instead. You can also manually boot your phone into recovery mode (volume up, power and menu button) and flash the roms from there.
     
  3. okeytokey

    okeytokey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    23
    0
    15
    thanks for reply, im downloading CWM and see what happens, thanks a lot
     
  4. okeytokey

    okeytokey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    23
    0
    15
    ok CWM , how does that work ? looks nothing like rom manager
     
  5. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    6,019
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,019
    3,844
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Its pretty straight forward. When you've downloaded the rom you want to flash open up cwm, press flash update zip, then find the rom zip and flash
     
  6. okeytokey

    okeytokey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    23
    0
    15
    but how do you download the rom? rom manager gives you a selection to choose from
     
  7. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    6,019
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,019
    3,844
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Just have a read of the all things root section. All the latest roms will have a thread in the first few pages of the forum. Choose one you like and download it from xda.
     
  8. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    Sounds like it might be a bit tricky for him to handle.

    okey, you'll have to download the ROM manually via your computer (it'll be a 200+ mb .zip file on the thread of your ROM of choice (eg, checkrom revolution: [ROM][XWKK5][2.3.6] CheckROM RevoHD
     
    okeytokey likes this.
  9. okeytokey

    okeytokey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    23
    0
    15
    thanks guys, I will have a look and , let you know how i get on. much appreciated
     
  10. Propwnage

    Propwnage Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Mechanical engineering student
    Finland
    My own experience says also that REMEMBER when you are at cwm. Go to mounts and delete cache data system and after that install new rom. It gets stuck to yellow triangle otherwise(with every rom what i have installed).
     
  11. okeytokey

    okeytokey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    23
    0
    15
    ok i have managed to install RevoHDv4 , is it recommended ?
     
  12. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    6,019
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,019
    3,844
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Nice choice. Its one of my favourites.
     
  13. okeytokey

    okeytokey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    23
    0
    15
    Great, this kitchen pro thing it looks amazing.. am I simply marking items for installation , pressing menu and selecting download rom? can i select many items or 1 at a time?
     
  14. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    6,019
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,019
    3,844
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Mark them for installation, then press menu, then apply. Once they have downloaded you get the option to instal. You can download and instal as many things as you like at once. There is however a bug if your using a kernel which has cwm 5. To automatically instal these you first need to remove your external sd card. If you don't want to do that you have to wait for the downloads to finish and then boot into recovery mode and flash them manually. If you're using a kernel with cwm 4 the auto installation will work without any problems.
     
    okeytokey likes this.
  15. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    One way around this kitchen install bug is to rename your clockworkmod folder on your SD card.
     
    Kie and okeytokey like this.
  16. okeytokey

    okeytokey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    23
    0
    15
    i've opened CWM and it says i have CWMv3.0
     
  17. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Thats CWM Manager, not CWM (Recovery)
    You will need to boot up into recovery mode to see what version of CWM you are on.
     
  18. okeytokey

    okeytokey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    23
    0
    15
    i have v5.0.27, what should i do? im in recovery mode
     
  19. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    you need to
    1. install zip from sd card
    2. choose zip from internal sd card
    3. navigate to downloads/checkrom_revo
    4. navigate to the update and install.

    If however you rename the clockworkmod folder as suggested above, then you will be able to do it directly via the kitchen app without having to go through CWM
     
  20. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    Nice tip :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...