1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can't install google maps 4.4 update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by otter, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. otter

    otter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    208
    5
    36
    I'm running bb 0.4, chevy 1.2LV, black glass theme on my droid. Is anybody else having a problem installing the google maps update? I tried yesterday and got an error that I think said something about a problem w/ the service pack.

    I tried probably 5x last night to install it from the market but didn't have any luck. Today I tried twice and again I get an installation error, however it doesn't say what the error is specifically.

    It takes about 4 minutes to download then when it gets to installation it says "installation unsuccessful"
     

    Advertisement

  2. gnath9

    gnath9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    418
    43
    63
    installed and works fine on jrummys kangerade 4.0.7

    maybe you need to clear cache or something ?
     
  3. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,112
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,112
    13,038
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Wow, mine installed fine but then placed my location 100 miles off the coast of Rhode Island! I had to close it and open it several times before it found my real location. Still trying to figure out the options.
     
  4. otter

    otter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    208
    5
    36
    Maps Cache is 0KB :-(
     
  5. cyberclaus

    cyberclaus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    75
    10
    18
    I am running BBV0.4, P3 1GHz kernel, with the black glass theme, and my update went fine.
    Did you try the usual suspects?
    1. reboot phone
    2. stop/start wifi
    3. Uninstall Google Maps then install from the market
    4. fix permissions

    I definitely had a permissions problem after I switched to BBV0.4, but I don't know if it would affect this or not. Good luck!
     
  6. jetsfan420

    jetsfan420 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    36
    1
    16
    I had the same problem, i'm running Cyanogen 6 RC2 with Chevy 1.1ghz Kernel.
     
  7. otter

    otter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    208
    5
    36
     
  8. otter

    otter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    208
    5
    36
  9. emdmao

    emdmao Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    384
    51
    53
    Just updated maps fine. I'm also on CM6 RC2
     
  10. gnath9

    gnath9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    418
    43
    63

    oops !!! sorry if I mis-lead you .... I mean "Market Cache"
     
  11. paidnfull

    paidnfull Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Cleveland, OH
    I have an even stranger situation. Maps doesn't show up in the market when I search it. In fact, my Market says I don't have any apps installed under my "downloads" menu. This just happened a day or so ago. I'm running Chevyno1 Simply Stunning v4.5. Any ideas?
     
  12. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,891
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,891
    6,120
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    This is an issue with a lot of Froyo ROMs. Many of them don't sync and restore apps with the market upon flashing the ROM. Did you notice this right after you flashed the ROM, or just now? You can always try to reflash the ROM (and I'd recommend wiping data/cache as well).
     
  13. paidnfull

    paidnfull Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Cleveland, OH

    I flashed this rom on 7/21. The market just started doing this like the day before yesterday. I know the only thing I've changed at this point is I installed MinFree Managager and set it to aggressive to help w/ homescreen redraw.
     
  14. johnatthebar

    johnatthebar Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    60
    18
    18
    I have the same problem with the update and I've been running BB .4. I'm hoping that .5 will come out soon and it will be a non-issue. Earlier issues similar to this were because of the discrepancy in some roms having maps preloaded and some not. There were some permissions fixes as well as other methods floating around a while back, but I dont think it applies to this particular issue.
     
  15. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I have had numerous apps with BB 0.4 that will not install, I just have had to keep cancelling the install and then installing it again.
     
  16. johnatthebar

    johnatthebar Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    60
    18
    18
    I've run into the v.4 market bug before, but that just causes the install to hang, and yes, after a few attempts it works. This is an actual failure, tried about 4 times with the same results. Lame.
     
  17. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I have had *both* failed install attempts as well as hung install attempts.

    The failed ones have driven me batty, but eventually I have gotten them to work. The hung ones hang on attempting to download even though other apps are downlaoding perfectly fine at the same time.
     
  18. jestexman

    jestexman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    393
    30
    43
    Mapping Specialist
    SE Dallas
    Cant install update with BB .4... Just adding myself to the list.
     
  19. MiNdSnAkE

    MiNdSnAkE Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    9
    2
    6
    IT
    CA
    I was able to install the update and I run BB 0.4....no issues here.
     
  20. jestexman

    jestexman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    393
    30
    43
    Mapping Specialist
    SE Dallas
    Trying again... DL now.... Trying to install and ...installation unsuccessful... :mad:
     
  21. gnath9

    gnath9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    418
    43
    63
    This worked great for me: (from Droid life)

    1. Open Terminal Emulator and type in the follow commands:

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 dev/block/mtdblock4 system
    rm system/app/Maps.apk
    cd system/bin
    sh pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.maps
    cd ..
    cd ..
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 dev/block/mtdblock4 system
    sync

    2. You can now attempt to install the Google Maps update.

    3. If it fails the first time, just cancel the download and try again. If it fails again, reboot and try.

    4. Done!

    I read this on another forum ...
     
  22. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    525
    27
    88
    Mail Carrier
    Cullman, AL
    I just wish all the different rom makers would just leave maps off, so we can download it from the marketplace without problem then. Is that so hard?
     
  23. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
    I'm also having this problem on a rooted MT3G. Has anyone found a fix?
     
  24. chadwick108

    chadwick108 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    122
    9
    36
    Male
    Sales
    Western NC
    I have had the same issue...have manually tried uninstalling from the system and everything...until I find an answer just using old google maps. Running Froyo 2.2 voles-userdebug 2.2 frf57 38829 test-keys and kernel 2.6.32.9=p3droidpierce@mydroidworld#12 overclocked 900mhz to 1.1 ghz stable
    flash player and wireless tether installed
     
  25. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    on a side note....

    didn't anyone read the 4.4 comments in the market? 4.4 seems to have a lot of issues.. that is why I did not update that app. the comments section is full of complaints.
     

Share This Page

Loading...