1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cant install maps on new rom

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iFrostyy, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. iFrostyy

    iFrostyy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    131
    2
    36
    Arizona
    Okay so i just flashed the ROM for 2.2 and as i was restoring my apps it fails to install Maps and Goggles. I do have the maps app on my system however, but in the market it says its not installed. As of now im fine with it not being installed but when there is an update there might be a problem. Any ideas?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Nicks88

    Nicks88 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    337
    59
    53
    CCTV operator
    Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX by way of Long Island, NY
  3. esmith818

    esmith818 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    691
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    691
    316
    113
    Web to Print Content Developer
    NC
    Regarding Maps, the version on the market is older than the version that comes with Froyo. You get an error when trying to update because Froyo is smart enough to know that you shouldn't be updating to an older version. Once Froyo is mainstream, the Market should catch up with the root users and offer updates that are newer than what you already have. ;)

    P.S. Some threads talk about removing maps from the phone and then installing it from the Market. Great plan which will allow you to sync with Market, but only if you want an older version of Maps.
     
  4. Darth_Penguin

    Darth_Penguin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    65
    5
    16
    I actually tried the ladder part of that and it wouldn't install maps for me from the market. If you go to Fab's theme thread he has instructions on getting maps to work.

    Edit, here is the link:
    http://androidforums.com/all-things...-android-2-2-beta-vote-name-4.html#post881431
     
  5. tjreishus

    tjreishus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    746
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    746
    94
    88
    Airline Pilot
    Is there a changelog for the new version. Or at least some idea of whats different?
     
  6. Icedemon

    Icedemon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    132
    2
    36
    Maryland
    If you go into the "About" section of the installed Maps, it says it's version 4.2.0. If you go into the Market and look at the version, it says it's 4.2.0. So it looking like it's the same version. No need to update or in this case replace because Froyo has the latest version.
     

Share This Page

Loading...