1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can't install ROM's?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Zascar, Sep 6, 2010.

  1. Zascar

    Zascar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    8
    4
    26
    So with difficulty I eventually managed to root my HTC Desire on 02 (Ireland) - it runs 2.1 but I want to try a new rom, specifically Froyo Sense from LeeDr0id: [FroYo Sense] LeeDrOiD V2.0 (30/08 l Official 2.2 l FAST l STABLE l OPTIONAL A2SD+) - xda-developers

    I downloaded ROM Manager and bought the premium version. I backed up my contacts with HTC Sync, and I have made a backup of my current setup to the SD Card. I then tried installing a new ROM with ROM manager, but it just does not work. It just restarts the phone. Sometimes it would go into a boot loop. I tried two differnt ROM's (Mocado and Pays rom) and I would get the customised ROM welcome screen but it would just loop at that screen. I would have to pull the battery and wipe, then restore to my primary backup.

    I did manage to get one rom installed, and that was when I downloaded Pinky from within ROM Manger and it installed. But I did not like Pinky - none of the others within the downloader look any good really.

    I even tried booting into recovery mode, restoring to factory settings, then boot to recovery, install from SD and try install the rom there. It seems to take about 10 seconds to install/extract, tells me to restart, looks like its extracting, but then I just get my normal 2.1

    I'm really at an end and I really hope someone can help me - even going right back to basics as maybe I have done something stupid. If anyone could suggest what the problem could be or what I could try I would appreciate it.

    Thanks
    Zascar
     

    Advertisement

  2. Anthony1

    Anthony1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    399
    45
    43
    Luton UK
    One thing springs to mind. Are you trying to use A2SD+ and have you partitioned the SD card appropriately?
     
    Zascar likes this.
  3. Zascar

    Zascar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    8
    4
    26
    Ooh good point! I think the rom version may be A2SD+ and no, I have not partitioned my SD. Can you do this within Rom Manager - does it wipe what is on the card? I'm in work so I can't back everything up here. Should I wait or can it partition and keep the files on the card? I'm using the stock card.
    Thanks
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK

    Wait and take everything off the card before you partition.
     
  5. smokinmonkey

    smokinmonkey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    45
    4
    16
    and dont use htc sync to back up.. get an app from the market called my backup pro...

    and make sure you take a backup in rom manager before you flash a new ROM... :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...