1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can't locate pics while hooked onto computer with phone

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by handyeeire, Mar 26, 2016.

  1. handyeeire

    handyeeire Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    0
    25
    Male
    i have a moot g 2nd gen, I did an update which it's been asking me to do for awhile. I'm sorry I let it run now because now my phone is up the left! When I put lead into phone and into laptop, it's coming up empty and can't find anything. I've tried going into settings, apps then tried to clear data and clear cache but when I hit clear cache, it doesn't do anything and when I hit clear data then ok, it just brings me to my main search menu with all my apps on it. Tried going into storage and usb as well but once in there, there's nothing to hit to help it.

    Anyone know what I can do. Badly need to get to my pics for work purposes.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,182
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,182
    35,822
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    What version of Android do you have? I forget when it started, but with later versions of Android, when you plug into a PC, it is 'charge only' mode by default and you have to pull down the notification bar and touch the USB charging bar for the option to change it to file transfers. Then your files should show up.
     
    handyeeire and KOLIO like this.
  3. handyeeire

    handyeeire Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    0
    25
    Male
    I don't know what version of android I have. How can I find out. It's a motor 2nd gen. Before the phones update, everything was fine. It's just when I updated it everything ended up the left and is doing my head in now. The amount of time I'm spending on trying to rectify it is very frustrating to say the least. Very close to taking a hammer to it :(.

    How do I find the charging default mode you mention if that's the problem?
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,182
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,182
    35,822
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Ah, nost likely it was the update that changed the option.

    Go to settings>about phone and it will show you your Android version there.

    When you plug your phone into your PC you need to pull down the notification bar and it should be right there. Tap it for more options and you can turn on file transfer mode. Be advised that you will have to do this every time you want to copy files and the setting cannot be made permanent.
     
    handyeeire likes this.
  5. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  6. handyeeire

    handyeeire Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    0
    25
    Male
    Lunatic, when I put it into laptop, when I click into the phone on laptop, all it says is empty folder no cant do anything else. Tried it and nothing to pull down
     
  7. handyeeire

    handyeeire Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    0
    25
    Male
    Here
     

    Attached Files:

  8. handyeeire

    handyeeire Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    0
    25
    Male
    Kolio, I checked that link but I haven't one clue what I'm looking for TBH
     
  9. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  10. handyeeire

    handyeeire Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    0
    25
    Male
    Link might be off help but I don't know what I'm looking for.
     
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,182
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,182
    35,822
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    You have to pull down the notification bar on your phone. Should look something like this ...

    Screenshot_20160326-172452.png
     
    handyeeire and KOLIO like this.
  12. handyeeire

    handyeeire Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    0
    25
    Male
    Lunatic59, you sir are a fcuking legend!! Working now!


    One other thing, I was given 2 CDs from a friend few weeks ago, I transferred them over to phone and now I can't find them when was looking them for the gym. Do ha know where I'd start for finding them and then how to get them to play
     
  13. handyeeire

    handyeeire Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    0
    25
    Male
    Lunatic, when I'm in there, I can move from internal storage but can't move any from the sd card, it's back to saying empty folder again when trying to move from sd
     
  14. bransonbel

    bransonbel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 4, 2016

    May 4, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Female
    I am having the same problem... I swipe it down and select 'transferring images" and still can't access my photos on my mac. Any ideas??
     
  15. sleedeane

    sleedeane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,396
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    1,396
    363
    193
    disabled carpenter
    Columbia, MO.
    It wouldn't hurt to check the content of the folders with the properties button as some times it'll say it's empty but its not. Other then that, they can turn up in some pretty weird places
     

Share This Page

Loading...