1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't, make,move,copy files to ph

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by exelite, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. exelite

    exelite Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Had my ph for some now now and has work great but now .... ph works, just cant do ...

    #: get Error -if i make directory could not be created - any time I try make a new folder in the ph system/media or any where - so I can move files from the SD to the ph, But, I cant also move or copy files from the SD to the ph system ? has worked before. Tryed 3 or 4 app file managers just not working. Any tips on this one ? Thx
     

    Advertisement

  2. beau420

    beau420 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    1,104
    173
    143
    Computer Guy
    Ottawa

    No clue what ph is.

    You sure you phone is still rooted?

    You did try:

    https://market.android.com/details?id=com.speedsoftware.rootexplorer&feature=search_result

    You do have Titanium Plus installed and Busybox?
     
  3. exelite

    exelite Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    ph is just one way of say my moblie etc.
    I don't think my moblie rooted and don't know how to do it.
    I just put Titanium Backup + Busybox on and I get Root access X:FAILED .. so I have to install some other app to root the moblie ?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  4. beau420

    beau420 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    1,104
    173
    143
    Computer Guy
    Ottawa
    In order to move anything on to the phone's internal RAM, you need to root the phone.

    You will need to know what version of Android your phone is running. 2.1 or 2.3.

    http://androidforums.com/x10-all-th...l-things-root-guide-updated-11-21-2011-a.html

    Rooting 2.1, super easy, takes seconds and 1 click.

    Here is how to root 2.3:

    http://androidforums.com/x10-all-things-root/449515-how-install-2-3-root.html

    You don't have to install a default ROM like I do at the start, just the rooting part.

    The pics aren't working in the thread anymore. I shouldn't have hosted them here...they disappeared within a couple weeks.
     
    exelite likes this.
  5. exelite

    exelite Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Hi beau420.

    Got it all installed etc..
    have Titanium Backup + Busybox + Explorer .. saying rooted and have root access.

    But get message:
    Warrning
    you cannot paste here because the file system is read-only ?

    If I move,copy or paste files or just make a new folder.

    same as before .. hmm , All I want to do is like when before the update is move or just put files into the system/media so I can have the ringtones etc I want to use and sms.

    Firmware: 2.1-update1

    Thanks for the help so far.
     
  6. beau420

    beau420 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    1,104
    173
    143
    Computer Guy
    Ottawa
    First, in order to use ringtones, you can just keep them on the SDCard. They don't have to be in system/media.

    And if it says the system is read only, I am not sure if you are rooted.

    Have you ever used the flashtool and rooted?

    http://androidforums.com/x10-all-things-root/272949-flashtool-guide-how-n00bies.html

    If you run the flashtool, it says you are rooted?

    Just install the program in Windows and run it and it should tell you if you are rooted or not.

    What are you using to copy and paste? You can't use your computer to do it. You will need a file manager on the android...and one that can use root access.
     

Share This Page

Loading...