1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can't move apps to SD

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wardog27, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. wardog27

    wardog27 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    I've created a ext 2 partition 512mb, installed a custom Rom, but when i try to move the apps 2 SD i don't have the option... Why?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Are you using an a2SD+ rom? You dont need to manually move them like in froyo. It is all automatic and "Silent". The "Move to sd card" button still appears but it is redundant using this method.

    Download "quick system info". It will tell you how much of the partition is free. If this is less than the total it shows, then its working.
     
  3. wardog27

    wardog27 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    I belive so, i'm using RedMix HD room! Option to move to SD does not appear and i just have 42mb internal left.
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
  5. wardog27

    wardog27 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    9
    0
    5
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Thanks. All I can tell is that the ext partition is for system/app so they all install there but it doesn't specifically mention that it has a2sd+. I've also read upto page 7 and no mention if it.

    My best advice is to ask in that XDA thread you linked too for help with this.

    Sorry I can't be of more help.
     
  7. wardog27

    wardog27 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Ty very much man! I'm gonna try the new aurax HD ROM, it mentions apps2SD+!

    Ty again!
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Cool. You already have an ext partiton for it. I would recommend clearing it first through recovery so you don't have anything left over from your first HD rom.

    Then everything you install should just install automatically on treh EXT partition instead of phone memory.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...