1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Can't power up phone after attempted ROM upgrade

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by daithidearg, Jan 9, 2014.

  1. daithidearg

    daithidearg Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    31
    2
    16
    Hello,

    I was following this install guide:
    DroidViews Best Custom ROMs for Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830i | DroidViews

    I installed the Ace-i-Sure ROM and I think I may have done it incorrectly. I selected:
    wipe data/ factory reset
    wipe cache partition

    I never saw an advanced option. Also I have an S5830 which I assumed was close enough to a S5830i.

    Volume Up + Home & Power key does nothing at all.

    Hopefully I amn't fubarred now or do you have any suggestions.

    Thanks,
    David
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    They are completely different devices according to GSMarena:

    S5830i
    S5830
    Notice the chipset and GPU differences.

    I think the phone is completely dead, sorry. :(
     
  3. ayush29k

    ayush29k Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,275
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    1,275
    245
    143
    Delhi
    As said above, these are completely different phones, they both have different chipsets. You can not use things made for the other device on your phone, it'll brick your phone.
    The reason you don't have advanced menu in recovery is probably because you have not flashed custom recovery. Did you flash clockworkmod recovery before?

    Use the guides from here and use only that which is made for your device.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/galaxy-ace
    Read the reviews before attempting.
     
  4. daithidearg

    daithidearg Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    31
    2
    16
    Sounds like I rushed into this and missed too many steps. I never installed CWM.

    The phone installs USB drivers when I plug it into the computer and Odin detects it being plugged in but it sounds like I'm fubarred.
     
  5. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    If Odin detects it, can you attempt to flash the stock firmware?
     
  6. daithidearg

    daithidearg Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    31
    2
    16
    In Odin I select PDA and ROM S5830XWKTQ_S5830O2IKT1_S5830XWKT8_HOME.tar.md5 I get following in Odin:
    <OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
    <OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
    <OSM> Please wait..
    <OSM> S5830XWKTQ_S5830O2IKT1_S5830XWKT8_HOME.tar.md5 is valid.
    <OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
    <OSM> Leave CS..
    <OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 0)

    I don't get anything when I plug the phone into the USB slots now and also in Odin I'm no longer seeing anything under ID:COM.

    Think I'm going to have to accept defeat.

    The last thing I was going to try was a USB jig but it seems like if I can't even get power to the screen that's no longer an option.

    Appreciate the inputs.
     
  7. ayush29k

    ayush29k Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,275
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    1,275
    245
    143
    Delhi
    Try a multiple file format firmware instead of a single tar file.
    And don't worry, Odin is detecting and working fine, you just need to get the correct firmware and follow the exact steps as instructed, your phone is fine, its just the software that is missing.

    Make sure you use the exact Odin version as required, the proper ops file and the correct firmware.
     
  8. daithidearg

    daithidearg Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    31
    2
    16
  9. balachis

    balachis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    31
    1
    36
    Male
    Freeware :P
    Malaysia
  10. ayush29k

    ayush29k Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,275
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    1,275
    245
    143
    Delhi
    Maybe its the firmware splitter that's not working, try getting an already split firmware. Make sure you are using the right pit file and have ticked all the appropriate options.
    Refer to other guides also, there are many available on xda itself.
     
  11. daithidearg

    daithidearg Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    31
    2
    16
    Same issue with SIM and SD card taken out. With nothing in the COM port mapping it seems like the phone isn't detected.

    I've been looking for a split firmware file so if anyone has one i'd appreciate it. I'll continue looking for one myself if no-one has one.
     
  12. balachis

    balachis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    31
    1
    36
    Male
    Freeware :P
    Malaysia
    U can try and search here SamMobile | Everything for your Samsung Mobile
    But u need to sign up 1st.. thats the official page for stock roms download from xda i thing :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...