1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can't reboot into HBOOT?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xfuchsiax, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. xfuchsiax

    xfuchsiax Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    288
    148
    88
    Turn phone off. Hold power button and volume down button. Should get me into HBOOT, correct? Well, its not, and I have no idea why. I can hold everything down for a minute straight and nothing happens until I release the buttons, at which point the phone boots normally.

    I just installed [ROM] Stock Gingerbread [2.3.4][Sense1.0] - xda-developers today, could this have somehow removed the ability to get into HBOOT? I flashed the ROM while charging with the USB connected to my computer, and I believe it installed new drivers... but seeing as http://androidforums.com/incredible...ivers-adb-bootloader-disk-drive-htc-sync.html says I need to get into HBOOT to install the universal drivers I used when rooting, I can't reinstall them.

    I feel like there must be something spectacularly obvious I'm doing wrong.
     

    Advertisement

  2. xfuchsiax

    xfuchsiax Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    288
    148
    88
    tallpaul02 and pragmatous like this.
  3. pragmatous

    pragmatous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    522
    102
    113
    what also works is hitting the optical button+power button
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    the problem is having "fastboot" enabled. it needs to be disabled for the volume down + power to work.
     
  5. tallpaul02

    tallpaul02 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    IT Analyst
    East Peoria, IL
    hm...problem here still. similarly to OP, i rooted with unrevoked 3 (using the guides on this site in the incredible section) and applied the leaked 2.3.4 update (with the radio update to 2.15.10.07.07). however, now i cannot get to clockworkmod to try putting cyanogenmod on there, nor can i rerun unrevoked (since im using 2.3 now), nor can i do a factory reset back to 2.2 to be able to rerun revoked.

    thoughts? advice?
     
  6. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    To quote the XDA link from earlier in the thread...
    Have you check to make sure fastboot is off?
     
  7. tallpaul02

    tallpaul02 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    IT Analyst
    East Peoria, IL
    yes, fastboot is off. sorry if i was unclear in my post above. i can get to the bootloader and s-off is still shown, but selecting "Recovery" from the menu does not load up clockworkmod anymore. it behaves like Recovery did before i rooted (red triangle and !).
     
  8. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    Try reflashing recovery using rom manager?
     
  9. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I wonder if this guy actually loaded the RUU instead of flashing a rooted rom of the update? That would explain the stock recovery.

    @Paul, we need some more info about exactly what you loaded.
     
  10. tallpaul02

    tallpaul02 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    IT Analyst
    East Peoria, IL
    euph_22, I will look into that tonight or this weekend

    iowabowtech, I loaded the leaked official Verizon gingerbread (2.3.4) for Incredible that I'm told they were supposed to push out OTA sometime soon. It included radio version v2.15.10.07.07. That is what is running on it currently (and working nicely thankfully).

    s-off is still displayed on the bootloader, so I figured I'd try renaming the cyanogenmod 7.0.3 zip file to PB31IMG.zip and drop it in the base directory of the SD card and see if it would flash it (without having to directly point clockworkmod at it since I can't get into it or possibly don't have it on there anymore...not sure which). It read through the file, said it was parsing it, but then just dropped back to the bootloader menu. I'm at work currently so I don't have the ability to plug it into a PC I have admin rights on at this time.
     
  11. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    You lost root when you flashed the above mentioned file. So you lost Clockwork and as you said, you can't use Unrevoked anymore. You can't rename CM7 like you mentioned, it won't work.

    Fortunately though, you're s-off. So what you need to do is go here:
    Inc. Recoveries | doug piston

    Download Clockwork 3.0.0.8. I think it's already named PB31IMG, if not rename it. Then load in hboot just like you did the leak. However, if you still have the leak PB31IMG on your SD card, remove it first so you don't have 2 files of the same name on your card. This will give you Clockwork back.

    Go to the market and load the Superuser app. If you run into problems getting SU from the market, you can always load it from your newly reaquired Clockwork instead. I'm assuming you still have busybox on your SD card from your previous root effort so hopefully you won't run into any other snags. Let us know. I haven't been through this process yet myself so we can learn together.
     
    tallpaul02 likes this.
  12. tallpaul02

    tallpaul02 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    IT Analyst
    East Peoria, IL
    Many thanks iowabowtech. Clockwork is on there again and I attempted to flash cyanogenmod 7.0.3 but neglected to wipe data/wipe cache first, so it just looped through the cyanogenmod startup animation forever. So I wiped data and cache and flashed cyanogenmod again. It seems to have installed nicely. Now I just have to fiddle around with it and get used to not having SenseUI :D

    edit - I must confess I don't know anything about busybox. Will read up on wikipedia about it, but any specific information you think would be relevant I'd certainly not turn down.
     
  13. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I'm not all that well versed on it either, I just know certain root apps need it, such as Titanium Backup. If you use that app, you can always press the "problems" button on the main screen and it will load a working version so hopefully no big deal. Sounds like you're where you need to be again anyway.
     
  14. varkie

    varkie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    327
    43
    43
    Michigan
    Superuser from the market will not work you need the latest version su-2.3.6.3-signed-efgh which you can get from here:

    Index of /superuser

    You have to install it from recovery, install zip from sdcard option.
     
  15. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA

    That is the same version that is in the market.
    2.3.6.3
     
  16. varkie

    varkie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    327
    43
    43
    Michigan
    he must have just updated the market then as it was an older version there last saturday
     
  17. railshot

    railshot Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I also don't have HRoot. Have DInc with stock 2.3.4 unrooted and s-on (I assume). Now that there is a way to downgrade to 2.2 and root, I tried it and got stuck with not being able to go to HBOOT (it just reboots normally)
    1. Volume down + Power
    2. Optic Button + Power
    3. Menu -> Settings -> No Power option, so I can't turn off fastboot
    4. Quickboot - only for rooted phones.

    Is there any hope for me?
    Thanks.
     
  18. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA

    Pull the battery for a minute, put back in, hold volume down, continue to hold, and press and hold power till the phone turns on.
     
    railshot likes this.
  19. railshot

    railshot Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Thank you very much. Just figured it out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...