1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't Receive MMS at ALL, Handcent or Messenger

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Brian Rubin, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    337
    20
    58
    Los Angeles, CA
    Hey guys, since I'm lazy and can't go through the TONS of search results I find when trying MMS, I thought I'd start a new thread if that's okay with y'all. I'm writing because my girlfriend sent me an MMS message through her dumbphone on ATT, and for the life of me I can't download it. I've had this happen before, and read that to solve the problem, one should uninstall and reinstall Handcent, which I did.

    Sadly, I still can't download any of her MMS messages.

    So here I am, imploring for your help in solving my issue. My EVO is rooted, but I'm not running any custom ROM's. I'm using Launcher Pro Plus as well.

    Any help y'all could provide would be very appreciated. Thank you very much. :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    clear data in manage applications....if that doesn't fix it restore your last known good nandroid or hard reset
     
  3. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    337
    20
    58
    Los Angeles, CA
    Tried the clear data thing, nothing. How does one do a hard reset, and if I have all my stuff backed up in Titanium Backup, will it save everything including texts and such?
     
  4. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    no back up is fool proof but in theory if you did it correctly , yes.

    power on phone while holding down volume button. or do it through menu.settings.security.factory reset or something like that

    i noticed handcent had an update in the market last night. have you run that first?

    also..since you are rooted....do you have a nandroid of when it was working prior?
     
  5. bschafer

    bschafer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I am having the same issue regarding sending and receiving mms text/pics. Im not a phone guru, so im not sure what a "nandroid" is. Can i get some input?? My phone sent mms fine for the first few weeks,then suddenly....nothing but errors. I called sprint and the customer service basically took 30 min of my life i will never get back. Actually ended up telling me to take my phone to a sprint store. :mad:





     
  6. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    He is rooted so that applies to a rooted phone. Is your phone rooted bschafer?


    Sprint suggested the correct thing to do after troubleshooting...if there was no resolution (did they have you hard reset?) then the next step would be to take it in to a Sprint repair center so that a technician can troubleshoot it in person.
     
  7. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    holy hell I couldn't send or receive MMS over the past few days...

    I still have not pinpointed the exact cause but I noticed that my internal memory was full. there was no way for the phone to store the compressed images.

    for now the solution was to move a ton of apps to my sd card to free up some internal memory


    and then

    I had a really bad network connection (full bars) phone would not connect to internet or anything web based like market etc... switched over to wifi and everything worked fine

    the network issue is really really getting annoying. I have been a customer with sprint for many years and have never experienced these issues. It seems that anytime I actually NEED my phone it doesn't work....and it also seems to happen in really congested areas like at the state fair, sporting events, and more recently random black friday sale locations with hundreds of people nearby.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  8. Kaizoku

    Kaizoku Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    NYC
    Anyone figure out how to fix this issue?? I've been dealing with it for about a week now and can't seem to find any solutions. For now I just tell people to e-mail me the pics, but it's getting to be an inconvenience!
     
  9. evoX2

    evoX2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    134
    31
    43
    So Cal
    https://pictures.sprintpcs.com/login.do?cp=login

    I had to go and log on here and clear out my picture mail since for some strange reason sprint stores it on here. Apparently it was full and i needed to clear some out before i started receiving MMS again.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  10. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    will definitely check this out. mine is working again now without doing this. I freed up space on the phones internal memory and reset the phone
     
  11. evoX2

    evoX2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    134
    31
    43
    So Cal
    The minute i went and cleared out the messages from the sprint picture mail site my MMS finally downloaded after numerous attempts all day. Little too coincidental for my liking.
     
  12. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    217
    36
    43
    Nerdy stuff
    I had a rooted phone running Cyanogen and Myn's warm since last June when I got the phone. I recently warrantied the phone for a new Evo (not refurb, white) and it is not running non-rooted stock Sprint Android.

    My MMS issue is with Wifi. When Wifi is on, I can't download an MMS. This is the EXACT same issue that my Hero had before they fixed it.

    Also, like everyone else in Texas, I am having horrible 3G data speeds. Started about a week or two ago, and hasn't gotten any better. I usually get up to 2000kbps downstream on 3G, and now am getting from 40-150kbps. It's ridiculous.
     
  13. evoX2

    evoX2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    134
    31
    43
    So Cal
     
  14. Kaizoku

    Kaizoku Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    NYC
    Anyone find a real fix for this yet?? I've tried everything on this forum and even did some google searching to no avail. The only thing I haven't tried is doing a factory reset. I really don't want to have to go this route.
     
  15. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    337
    20
    58
    Los Angeles, CA
    I don't want to either, but so far, bupkis.
     
  16. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    all I did was move some apps to my sd card using apps to sd, rebooted the phone, updated prl and made sure I had a good network connection and they started working
     
  17. jeanneee

    jeanneee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015

    Jan 3, 2015
    3
    1
    16
    Female
    I was having the same problem for weeks but just fixed it:

    Settings>Connections>More Networks>Mobile Netoworks>Access Point Names>ATT Phone>APN type (mine was blank, I typed in the word 'default' in all lower case, backed out, and it worked!! - I found it on androidforums.com) Whew!!
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  18. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    good to know, but this the htc evo 4g forum which is only offered thru sprinto_O
     
    Mikestony likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...