1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't receive picture texts after froyo

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Waldo, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. Waldo

    Waldo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    92
    4
    16
    Massachusetts
    Hi my friend updated their Galaxy S Vibrant to Froyo and now I'm told they can't receive picture texts. It just sits there on downloading.

    They do not have the dataplan but was able to receive pictures before with 2.1

    Any idea what happened? :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dr.StainedGlove

    Dr.StainedGlove Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    85
    10
    18
    Electronics tech
    Whosetown, Tx
    I had that problem with certain people on 2.1.. Try a different sms app like handcent.
     
  3. Waldo

    Waldo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    92
    4
    16
    Massachusetts
    Downloaded and tried Handcent, still no go
     
  4. Dr.StainedGlove

    Dr.StainedGlove Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    85
    10
    18
    Electronics tech
    Whosetown, Tx
    When mine did it, it would eventually come through with some people and Iwould have 2or 3"downloading messages and then the picture would come through.. but some would never load. Haven't had that issue on custom roms though. Only on stock. Seems pretty drastic though to have to root your phone to receive such a basic service.
     
  5. Waldo

    Waldo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    92
    4
    16
    Massachusetts
    Oh that's dumb..
    Phone is rooted too so gonna do Bionic 1.3 or something and hope it works
     
  6. Dr.StainedGlove

    Dr.StainedGlove Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    85
    10
    18
    Electronics tech
    Whosetown, Tx
    Toly dumb.. I am sure there is another solution, but as easy as it is to flash custom roms and as stable as they have gotten, you may as well give it a shot.
     
  7. Waldo

    Waldo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    92
    4
    16
    Massachusetts
    I've never loaded a rom on the Vibrant before, how long does the process take in minutes?
    I did my droid in about 15
     
  8. Dr.StainedGlove

    Dr.StainedGlove Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    85
    10
    18
    Electronics tech
    Whosetown, Tx
    About the same.
     

Share This Page

Loading...