1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't receive Visual voice mail while on WI-FI??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wedgemoose, May 25, 2010.

  1. wedgemoose

    wedgemoose Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #400
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    456
    98
    53
    Sales
    MA
    i want to use WI-Fi while I'm at work to save battery (my 3G coverage is awful and it constantly searches for it). Everything works except for Visual Voice Mail. the second I turn "mobile network" back on my voice mails appear.

    Is it a silly setting I'm doing wrong? or does Visual voice Mail need 3G to receive??

    P.S. when i try and use WI-FI, I turn on WI-FI and turn off 3G

    i havent tested to see if I could get my voicmails the old fashined way by dialing in (while on WI-FI only) but i do know that I don't get a indication that i have an e-mail (so i wouldn't know when to dial in if it did work the manual way).

    thank in advance...

    I know someone spoke about they use Wi-Fi instead of 3G while at work and every thing was perfect BUT i don't know if he subscribes to Visual Voice mail
     

    Advertisement

  2. ashykat

    ashykat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,076
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009

    Apr 27, 2009
    1,076
    127
    163
    Irvine, CA
    I don't have VZW so I can't speak for them, but this exact thing happened to me when I was on T-Mobile using Android. I was still able to call into regular voicemail, but visual wouldn't work unless I was connected to Edge or 3G, not wifi.
     
  3. DixieNormas

    DixieNormas Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    57
    7
    16
    Orange County
    Im using Google VM and had the same problem myself until I set my Wy-fi sleep policy to to (never)

    on your phone go to menu/settings/wireless & networks/wi-fi settings/
    below hit menu again/advanced/wi-fi sleep policy/(never)
     
  4. ashykat

    ashykat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,076
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009

    Apr 27, 2009
    1,076
    127
    163
    Irvine, CA
    You're saying you have your wi-fi set to always on right? The problem we're siting is that Visual VM doesn't work when we are connected to WiFi
     
  5. kwest12

    kwest12 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    474
    69
    73
    Interesting.... I'd also like an answer to this question: I probably will turn off 3G in my house when I get the Incredible. If anyone can resolve this issue that would be awesome.
     
  6. nightfishing

    nightfishing Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    588
    111
    93
    There are lots of reports of specific functions that do not work on WiFi, but as far as I have seen, there has been no definitive answer as to why or any workaround (except for switching back to 3g).

    Oddest one for me is that certain Google pages fail due to redirects. The Google Products page that I use to initiate barcode scanning is one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...