1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cant root prevail with odin

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by skids94, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. skids94

    skids94 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012

    Dec 24, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    When i try to root my prevail odin gets stuck on "setup connection"
     

    Advertisement

  2. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Do you have it in downloading mode?
    Do you have the drivers installed?
    Are you running windows?
     
  3. skids94

    skids94 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012

    Dec 24, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Check, check and check. followed all the directions.
     
  4. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Try a different USB port.

    If you're using a USB hub, dont
     
  5. skids94

    skids94 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012

    Dec 24, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    [​IMG]

    heres a picture , its still running. no change
     
  6. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Reboot phone
    Reboot computer
    Try different cable
    Try different port
    Uninstall/reinstall drivers
    Try different computer


    Try different phone?
     
  7. skids94

    skids94 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012

    Dec 24, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Nothing... any other way to root this phone? 2.3.6
     
  8. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Sadly no. Odin is the alpha and omega when it comes to Samsung devices. All other exploits have been patched on the prevail
     
    skids94 likes this.
  9. vce2005

    vce2005 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    961
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    961
    275
    113
    Male
    Clovis, NM
    You DIDN'T follow the directions :

    Step seven: Click OPS, and select SPHM820.ops. Click Phone and select the Rooted_PHONE.tar. Click PDA and select the Rooted_PDA.tar. Leave the other ones blank. Those extra files are for fixing broken phones and should not be used.

    This is what your window should look like (Click for large version):

    [​IMG]


    Seems like you selected the "Boot.tar" ! DON'T !!! Only the .ops, the Phone and the PDA !!!!

    Y
     
  10. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    That shouldn't make a difference, I use all three every time I use odin
    (But you could always try anyways for fun)
     
  11. vce2005

    vce2005 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    961
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    961
    275
    113
    Male
    Clovis, NM
    Well, just looking at the guide and it says "you shouldn't use the other ones ! " I never used the boot.tar, so I can't say if it causes the trouble or not !!
     
  12. skids94

    skids94 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012

    Dec 24, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Did that too. Still nothing. Tried every thing so far.
     
  13. vce2005

    vce2005 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    961
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    961
    275
    113
    Male
    Clovis, NM
    Might be a dumb question, but are you sure your phone is the Prevail and not the Rush ( also called by some the Prevail 2 ) ???
     
  14. SParker40

    SParker40 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012

    Jan 15, 2012
    101
    13
    38
    Self Employed
    Bristol Tennessee
    Theres also the precedent and I was fooled for a minute but it roots the same as the prevail but you need the right ops file. Mine boots like a prevail now and runs fine.
     
    Slayer72 likes this.
  15. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,494
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,494
    3,159
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    Try running Odin as an admin (right click and run as administrator). Also, I'm moving this to the All Things Root section
     
    Lordvincent 90 and Slayer72 like this.
  16. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
    Question, it's quite possible that you may not have a data cable for the phone meaning that if the cable only charges the phone it would produce the problem you're having... When you connect the phone to your computer with the usb cable are you able to access Mass Storage Mode on it?? If not then you need to get yourself a DATA cable then your problem should be solved as long as you have the Samsung USB drivers for Mobile Phones already installed... :)
     
  17. Koumajutsu

    Koumajutsu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    Having kies installed can also interfere with odin. I've had an occasional issue that I seem to consistently work around by getting it all setup, get the phone in download mode, then I unplug the USB cable then plug it back in. It seems to let odin grab control of the com port
     
    Slayer72 likes this.
  18. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
    Don't mess around and brick your phone, the roms for the Prevail are known to not be compatible with the Precedent...
     
  19. SParker40

    SParker40 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012

    Jan 15, 2012
    101
    13
    38
    Self Employed
    Bristol Tennessee
    yeah cm7 is one of them but the whole thing is that its a sph m828 and not a 820 like the prevail is. I rooted one and only using the sch M828 ops and the rest like the prevail and it worked flawlessly. My precedent thinks its a prevail. No problems to report at all. I put it on ej06 and run ct 3.75 on it
     

Share This Page

Loading...