1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Cant root using Siyah v6.0beta5

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shocksl, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. shocksl

    shocksl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    34
    2
    16
    Hi guys

    I am currently running Jellybean on my i9100 galaxy s2.

    I need to route it. I followed the steps in routing for dummies thread. Unfortunanetly when I use the Odin to download Siyah v6.0beta5 on my phone it fails. I have set usb to debugging and I do put the phone to downloading mode.

    However it Passes when I do it with a gingerbread kernel version. when the phone starts unfortunately it gets stuck on the first screen where it shows yellow explanation mark and doesn't go further.

    So I to use the 'stock version' to restore it back to factory settings.

    Can somebody help me to overcome this, how can I route it??
     

    Advertisement

  2. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,477
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,477
    5,709
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Just checking... You are using the Siyah v6.0beta5 TAR file, (un-extracted), and NOT the ZIP file aren't you?

    You cannot root Jelly Bean firmware, Android 4.1.2, using the Gingerbread root kernels!

    As per #2.0 of the Dummies Guide, can you give the 4 lines of information that it shows under, "Version".
     
    shocksl likes this.
  3. shocksl

    shocksl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    34
    2
    16
    It's this file.. http://www.gokhanmoral.com/?p=1796

    and its deffinately the tar file. I just checked it in properties.

    Does the file above look ok? or do you know an alternative. the phone is using a Jelly bean version now (i stocked it previousily)
     
  4. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,477
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,477
    5,709
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    The Siyah file should be OK then.

    However, judging from these two threads...

    Quick root software not working not connecting to ABD server

    Is this kernal file a Zip or a tar file????

    and your post #1, here...

    You appear to have used multiple previous methods to root and multiple kernels, including Gingerbread, KI8, on a Jelly Bean firmware!

    It would seem that you have therefore, quite possibly, corrupted/damaged your stock firmware and will need to re-flash it before attempting to root again and possibly, "bricking", your phone.

    To do this, you will need to download the stock Samsung firmware for your phone version, as detailed in #2.0 of the Rooting Galaxy S2 - Dummies Guide...

    ... and flash it via Odin using the instructions in the link #1.7 of the Jelly Bean update - Dummies Guide.

    Once you are up and running on the stock Jelly Bean firmware for your phone you can then attempt the rooting process again by carefully following the instructions in the Rooting Galaxy S2 - Dummies Guide.
     
    shocksl likes this.
  5. shocksl

    shocksl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    34
    2
    16
    okay mate

    I have done that. i have stocked the phone with original file using odin. But this file SiyahKernel S2-v6.0beta5 | SiyahKernel is still not wworking.

    do you have a an alternative file to that? i think the file is messed up.
     
  6. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,477
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,477
    5,709
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    That was quick! It normally takes me an hour and a half just to download the stock firmware from SamMobile.

    So, which firmware, exactly, did you download and install?
     
    shocksl likes this.
  7. shocksl

    shocksl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    34
    2
    16
    I already have the stock software which took me ages to download ... its on my other computer. ... I have 2 galaxy S2. Ive already stocked one before. That fixed my other galaxy phone which the tethering wasnt working. Someone suggested to stock it. You will find that as my first ever thread here. iirc the stock file was something like 700mb. its on my other pc.

    I have now stocked my new s2 using the same stock which I unrooted my first s2 with.

    So if you know an alternative siyah file to the above link i posted. I would be grateful. hopefully it will work this time.
     
  8. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,477
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,477
    5,709
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Please... just type in to the dial pad on your phone...

    *#1234#

    and give the 4 lines of information that it shows.

    I have just re-downloaded and checked the Siyah kernel and it is fine and has worked for the thousands of others that have used it. Therefore the problem is with your device and I am trying to get to the bottom of it.

    Providing that your phone is functioning perfectly well now that you have flashed the stock firmware, you will be able to access the version details I have requested and we can take it from there.
     
    shocksl likes this.
  9. shocksl

    shocksl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    34
    2
    16
    pda: i9100XWLSW
    PHONE: I9100NELS1
    CSC:19100H3GLS5
    BUILD INFO : THU MAY 16 09:42:01 KST 2013
     
  10. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,477
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,477
    5,709
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    That is the latest Jelly Bean, Android 4.1.2, firmware for the THREE network for the GT-i9100.

    Siyah 6.0beta5 is the correct kernel to root that firmware. You can also use the Siyah 6.0beta4, (further down the list), to root that firmware.

    Just checking that you are using the un-extracted, Siyah, .tar file in PDA, not Phone, in Odin.
     
  11. shocksl

    shocksl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    34
    2
    16
    I cant find the one your talking about. Can you show me which one it is?

    I am putting it in PDA and as a tar file as i have checked it.

    It automatically fails as soon as I hit start.
     
  12. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,477
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,477
    5,709
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Siyah 6.0beta4 is the fourth kernel down in the list, here.

    When you connect your phone to Odin does the ID:COM bar turn light blue as per #2.3 of the Dummies Guide?
     
  13. shocksl

    shocksl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    34
    2
    16
    yes it lightens up.... but above t when i click start it quickly says fail
     
  14. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,477
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,477
    5,709
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    1. Have you tried re-downloading Siyah 6.0beta5 and trying it again in case of a bad download?

    2. Have you tried flashing the Siyah 6.0beta4 kernel I mentioned?

    3. Are you using Odin 3.07 or 1.85?

    4. What exactly does it say in the white box, Message, box in Odin when it fails?
     
  15. shocksl

    shocksl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    34
    2
    16
    What do you mean buy flashing the Siyah 6.0 ?

    All I did was download it. Made sure it was a tar file. Then used my odin 1.85 to put it on my phone through the PDA. by putting phone on downloading mode n usb debugging.


    Is this correct?
     
  16. shocksl

    shocksl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    34
    2
    16
    just a quick up date it has finally worked! for some reason i had to take the sim card n memory card for it to work

    Unfortunately it wont let me unlock it via using galaxy s unlock by helroz and busybox.

    It does let me do all steps etc. but it wont actually unlock it as when i put other sims in, it asks for sim code.

    I have used this method before to unluck another phone and it worked. but I was on gingerbread. Pehaps I have upgraded this phone to jellybean which is the problem. Is there a way to get it back to gingerbread. it might just unlock if i go that way??
     
  17. dev1975

    dev1975 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013

    Sep 8, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, I'm in the same position as Shocksl at the moment. I've used exactly the same Jelly Bean firmware and Siyah kernel on my SGS2 and it's put the SuperUser root account on my phone. However, any attempt to use the Galaxy S2 unlocker apps from the Google Play store do not unlock the phone. Any other SIM card that is not on the 3 Network is not recognised and I get a message on screen requesting a PIN to unlock.

    Has anyone been able to proceed past this step and can give any pointers??

    Thanks in advance!
     

Share This Page

Loading...