1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can't Root your phone and nothing works? Try this.

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by RadioActive1, May 9, 2012.

1. RadioActive1

RadioActive1 Lurker
    None

May 9, 2012
    Retired - 30 years in IT industry
    Frisco, TX
    OK, all you have to do is look at my number of posts on here to know that I'm a noob at things Android.

Rooted my Android phone sometime back using Beezy's "One Click Root". This past week started having problems with the phone and had to have Sprint re-flash the phone.

Came home, installed some apps, and tried to re-root the phone. Beezy's app ran to completion but when I re-booted - no root access.

I then proceeded to try everything under the sun including:

- SuperOneClick
    - Androot
    - FlashRec
    - HeroRoot

None of them worked.

I worked in the software industry for 30 years and if I learned one thing, it's "if it worked before and doesn't work now, something changed", and usually, from my experience, that "something" is a software or driver install. So I started ticking off things to answer than question. Then I had a hunch - I had installed Avast! Antivirus.

Decided to reset the phone back to factory, in case some app was causing the problem. Re-booted to Recovery and flashed Rootme.zip.

Bingo!!! Root access again.

So, if you're having trouble rooting your phone and have ANY antivirus app installed, uninstall it. Also be aware that even with an uninstall, some virus scanners leave remnants that can still cause problems.

Hope I'm not telling people something that is common knowledge.

RadioActive1

Advertisement

IOWA and Demache like this.
  2. Demache

Demache Android Expert
    None

Apr 18, 2010
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Well its not exactly something that doesn't make sense. The anti virus was blocking the root method since it thought it was malware. Not surprising since rooting can give apps complete control of the phone.