1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can't root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Joehunni, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Okay first for a little history, I got my hero in April, updated with the official 2.1 release from Sprint when that came out and then when they cracked root on that I rooted it using Regaws method [GUIDE] How to Root Sprint 2.1 Release for CDMA Hero - xda-developers. So I was rooted and stayed stock with some little stuff like autokiller and tethering for awhile but about a week later decided to start trying out some custom roms. Somehow, when flashing one of many new roms to try out, the installation went bad. I don't remember all of the specifics but I remember using rom manager to reboot in clockwork recovery and flashed I think Aloysius. I don't remember the exact error but I couldn't restore my nandroids as I was stuck in clockwork recovery which wouldn't let me, so my only option was to reboot. Once my phone rebooted I realized that for whatever reason, I was back to fully stock 2.1. I could still boot into the clockwork recovery but all other traces of ever being rooted were gone. I even decided to go ahead and do that .6 update while I was stock, after downloading it the installation failed and dropped me back into recovery. Now until today I decided to deal with it but decided to re-root it and start over a couple of hours ago. I followed the same guide as before and all went smooth until the part where command prompt spells out UNREVOKED. It looked normal but still showed the # sign instead of the $ sign and I didn't have the SU app in the tray like I was supposed to. I've now tried 3 times with different versions of Sync installed and everything. I even tried to RUU back to the standard official Sprint release 2.1 twice and both times just get some BS usb connection error, and I know I'm connected well. I believe somehow, I'm now unrootable. If anyone has any ideas or insight let me know as I am completely stumped.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    .6 is not rootable.. you have to revert back to .5
     
  3. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    I don't have .6, I tried to download it at one point and the installation of it failed. Still says .6 in my software info. Besides, even if I did have .6 I tried to use a .5 RUU which also failed.
     
  4. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Says .5 in my software I meant.
     
  5. jerry43812

    jerry43812 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    19
    9
    16
    I can try to help over gtalk if you want. PM me please.
     
  6. jerry43812

    jerry43812 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    19
    9
    16
    Only available for a short while longer. ..
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...