1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Can't seem to revert to stock after installation of Cyanogen 7

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gamedazed, May 19, 2011.

1. gamedazed

gamedazed Lurker

I rooted my phone (HTC Evo 4G) back a while ago and wanted to try installing a ROM. I backed up everything with Titanium, but instead of choosing backup ROM and clearing all data, I stuck with default. Definitely not the best idea, but the problem is I can't seem to get to the point where I can flash to stock. The Cyanogen Mod 7 boot loader loads (The android on the skateboard surrounded by the circle with an arrow traveling along it), but every 10 rotations it just restarts the loader. As a result I can't get into the O.S. and while at first I thought I may have just been impatient, it's been trying to boot for 6 hours now. : (

I am new to android, rooting, and especially ROMs, so if there are any options that I have overlooked please let me know. I have no issues with wiping everything because it's already been backed up, I just can't figure out how to do so.

Possibly noteworthy facts include:
    *The only way I have found to power off the phone is by removing the battery.
    *The HTC EVO 4G window (just before the boot loader) takes about 2 minutes to load, significantly more than usual.
    *I used ROM Manager to find, download, and install Cyanogen 7
    *I do not have an SD Card reader on my computer

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. ocnbrze

ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!

ok so first off i would learn how to flash things manually. rom manager has been known to be buggy.