1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can't set up Gmail ony my Ascend

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by melo1819, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. melo1819

    melo1819 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    13
    5
    16
    I have a Cricket Huawei Ascend running CyanogenMod-6.1.1-03152011-Ascend
    Android version 2.2.1.
    I can't set up my Gmail account.
    It always says "Can't establish a reliable data connection to the server."
    I've tried on wifi and on 3G.
    I've set up my facebook and twitter accounts fine but Gmail won't let me connect.
    I need Gmail because i have my contacts on there, and without an account you can't use the market.
    I've tried a factory data reset and it still says the same thing.
    Anyone know how to fix this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. melo1819

    melo1819 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    13
    5
    16
    I've reinstalled the ROM and it still won't let me sign it with google. /:
     
  3. htvaquero

    htvaquero Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    14
    1
    36
    As you know, Android 2.2.1 is not an official release. I had installed it too but my cell would disconnect from the wireless network and no txt or calls would come in or go out so i got rid of it.
     
  4. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,394
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX
    I don't know what to tell you outside of trying to look around for a fix or trying something else. Did it say this mod has any issues? Wish you the best of luck. :)
     
  5. THE3RDANGEL

    THE3RDANGEL Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    10
    2
    36
    FULL-TIME STUDENT
    HOUSTON,TX
    hey if you haven't tried, go to your settings then accounts & sync and you should be able to add your email from there. If you can't do that you are right about the account and the market but it should already be set to your gmail account. When i got my phone i had to enter in my gmail account and it synced everything else contacts and all. So it might be the phone or the provider if you haven't had any success with any other attempts! Good luck!
     
  6. melo1819

    melo1819 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    13
    5
    16
    I've never found a fix for this so I just updated to to CM 7.. With CM7 my gmail works fine.
    Thanks septemebersrain and the Th3rdangel. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...