1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can't unlock Android Market

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by MonarchX, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. MonarchX

    MonarchX Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    So I want to have all the apps available in Android Market and I cannot get Market Enabler to install. When I launch the MarketEnabler_3.0.8.apk - I get an error saying "Install Blocked - bla bla since application not sourced in Android Market". What do I do? I downloaded command line app called Android Shell Emulator and I'm supposed to enter adb install MarketEnabler_v3.0.8.apk

    But it does not work - it just says erroroutput[adb; not found. I placed the MarketEnable file in the root phone directory. My Samsung Captivate is properly rooted. So how the hell am I supposed to get that command and the damn Market to work properly???????????????????????????????????????

    Also, I accidentally uninstalled the Where program that came with my phne and I cannot find it on Android Market to reinstall it....Do I need unlocked Android market for that?
     

    Advertisement

  2. defkorn

    defkorn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    270
    25
    43
    The error message you talk about is probably regarding allowing non-market software to run. Go to Settings > Applications and check "Unknown sources". I'm not sure how to fix theother issues you're having, but maybe this will solve it all.
     
  3. ls377

    ls377 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    40
    4
    16
    Unless you have a custom ROM, the "unknown sources" option shouldn't be there.

    The only way I've heard is to do it using the computer. You can either use the SDK or the Sideload Wonder Machine.
     
  4. GirlGoneGeek

    GirlGoneGeek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    149
    33
    63
    St. Louis, MO
    Depends on your phone. You have an Aria, so I'm guessing you have that AT&T anti-sideloading bs to deal with. On my Evo, that option has always been available, stock or custom ROM.
     
  5. ls377

    ls377 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    40
    4
    16
    Yeah, it's like that on every ATT phone, such as the Captivate.
     

Share This Page

Loading...