1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can't update OTA

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JoeNewbie, Aug 8, 2013.

  1. JoeNewbie

    JoeNewbie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012

    Aug 15, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    At ZV9 trying to take update via OTA. I do not have access to internet other than the phone, so LG Updater tool and downloading the 300 mb cab file are out of the question for now.
    Have unrooted, reinstalled all bloatware, removed all instances of superuser, installed shortcut via anycut for Mobile Care. Mobile care will download the update, reboot the phone, but phone boots into CWM recovery. I press "reboot now" in CWM, phone reboots......Message from updater saying to leave power on it is not finished......Then message "Update failed" FOTA error. I go Back into Mobile care, hit info button.....
    Update status: Failed update
    Reason code:408
    Update package size:5.04 MB
    I am assuming this is because of CWM Recovery.
    Looking through my download dir on the SD card, I found that Metro left a cab file in there. "MS840VV5_02.SVV5_02.P3032.cab" 1.08 MB
    I converted it to a kdz......Any thoughts on applying it as is?
    How can I disable, uninstall CWM recovery??
     

    Advertisement

  2. JoeNewbie

    JoeNewbie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012

    Aug 15, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I have progressed a little further......
    I flashed "CWM-Loop-DeLooper.zip" in CWM recovery.....I assume this removed CWM Recovery. I tried OTA updated again and after the downland, the phone rebooted without CWM, and I got the little android download animation.......Then update failed......New update failure code 410

    I still have romtoolbox pro installed.....Rom Manager is uninstalled
     
  3. kiroshi23

    kiroshi23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    352
    31
    43
    Male
    student
    new york
    you cant have cwm you need to be entirely stock, no root, no nothing. you would need to flash a vv for you to go entirely stock

    no one reads my posts lol :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...