1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't update to 2.2 due to connection problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bertje, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. Bertje

    Bertje Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Im having problems updating my samsung galaxy s to firmware 2.2. Im trying to do it trough Samsung Kies but when I connect my phone, there is no connection recognized in Kies, however my phone says 'connected trough usb' (and it charges and everything).

    In windows (divices and printers) there is no icon for the phone. When I connect the phone, I hear no 'divice connect beep'. When I try to install the usb drivers seperatly, I get a 'unknown device not installed correctly' error.

    I tried it on a pc with win xp and on one with windows 7. Tried reinstalling and everything.

    Is there any way to fix this problem? Is there any alternative way of updating the firmware?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Welcome to Android Forums, bertje.

    I took your question out of the Updates and Cupcakes forum and placed it in the Galaxy S forum for you.

    The Updates forum is more for discussion of the software, not support for each device. ;)
     
  3. ggarland

    ggarland Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    28
    0
    35
    I am experiencing the exact same problem ....
     
  4. caesey

    caesey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    74
    12
    18
    Did you install the latest version of Kies? Make sure you completely remove Kies first (uninstall, then delete the folder & restart windows).

    Have you made any customizations on your phone like rooting, custom ROM, lag fixes? If yes, please revert it before using Kies (reboot your phone as well). I also read somewhere that you should use TouchWiz launcher when connecting to Kies.
     
  5. Bertje

    Bertje Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Lol turning the phone off and on fixed the problem. Cant believe I havent tought about this before :S.

    Many thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...