1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can't use other keyboards

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dizmatic, May 8, 2012.

  1. dizmatic

    dizmatic Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    20
    2
    16
    I've Installed numerous keyboards and no matter what one i enable all i get is android keyboard. Tried freezing android keyboard with Titanium backup then i don't get a keyboard at all.

    I'm rooted on stock.

    Anyone have this happen before. Have any suggestions?

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,433
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,433
    17,145
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Sorry if this is basic & you've done it, but as well as enabling a keyboard app you must select it. The way to do that is a bit non-obvious: long-press in a text entry field (e.g. text message composition window) and select "input method" from the pop-up menu.
     
  3. dizmatic

    dizmatic Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    20
    2
    16
    Well that explains alot thanks for the help. I feel like an idiot now LOL.:)
     
  4. Hadesminion13

    Hadesminion13 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    43
    4
    16
    Oh my God I had this problem for so long dude, don't feel bad lmao. I kept trying to enable keyboards and one day I was looking at how to get Swype to work and the guy said something about a long press, I did it and felt like an idiot, been there done that haha. Good to know I'm not the only one that had trouble with this :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...