1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Canvas Help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by starr1048, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. starr1048

    starr1048 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    204
    33
    43
    Somewhere Out There
    (DESKTOP) Canvas 2.1 - update1

    I recall I could deleted Canvas ? :thinking: :thinking: :thinking:
    What will I be missing if I did Deleted Canvas
     

    Advertisement

  2. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    Your home screen. As in your ability to see your nine screens and short cuts.
    I've never done it but that's my understanding.
     
    starr1048 likes this.
  3. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,394
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX
    Have downloaded a secondary program to replace it. Such as Go Launcher, ADW, Etc. If you delete it without having another program you'll just get a bunch of force closings and problems with the phone. Thats what I've seen or read at least. ^^.
     
    starr1048 likes this.
  4. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,197
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    If you are still using your phone, you obviously have another launcher, but you will have a big problem if something happens to it. You also might need canvas when it's time to update. There is a thread about how to get canvas back. I think in the troubleshooting section. If you still have the 9 home screens, you still have canvas.
     
    starr1048 likes this.
  5. starr1048

    starr1048 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    204
    33
    43
    Somewhere Out There
    Thanks I haven't deleted it yet until o see some reply lol thanks All
     
  6. arric_mclovin

    arric_mclovin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011

    Apr 1, 2011
    31
    0
    15
    Las Vegas
    but why is it when i go into TB and try to freeze it. it says its a donated version?
     
  7. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    because it's stock. if you don't pay for it or get it from market it is donated.

    only freeze canvas if you have another launcher already.
     
  8. efeigenbaum

    efeigenbaum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    297
    45
    63
    Male
    Lincoln, NE
    After I rooted my phone, I froze the apps I didn't want, backed them up, and deleted them and this includes Canvas. If I need them, I can restore them using Titanium Backup but, in the meantime, they aren't taking up space on the phone. I don't understand why folks advise against deleting apps since, if you have them backed up, you can restore them.
     
  9. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    Note on titbu.

    If you don't have a smiling face you can't restore the app. Data only apps don't restore.
     
    KOLIO and Gmash like this.
  10. Zenofsong

    Zenofsong Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    45
    2
    16
    Im running huawei on metro. I deleted canvas I have another launcher installed but im just getting a bunch of force close messages.


    UPDATE:After restarting the phone, go launcher appears to be working fine as my default launcher. Im assuming i should take caution if uninstalling it. IS there anything else i should look out for and should i reinstall canvas?
     
  11. Ashleyh06

    Ashleyh06 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    90
    21
    18
    Female
    Texas.. 210 baby!!!

    i have go launcher but when i try to freeze canvas it still FC on me and nothing is in any of the 9 screens... also after a resent factory reset the "power widget" has a "problem loading" on canvas.. why is my canvas having so many issues now?? :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...