1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Captivate can't find iPhone 4 MyWi

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by circazero, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. circazero

    circazero Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    51
    11
    18
    LA, CA
    I have the captivate and the iPhone 4. Since I can't find a way that works correctly to tether my 3G from captivate as a hot stop, I'm using my iPhone with mywi which makes my iPhone a wifi hot spot. I'm able to connect iPods computers and other devices to the iPhone 4 hotspot. But the captivate cannot find the wifi network I create :(
    It's WEP with a 10 digit password. Does anyone know why it cannot find the network or how I can get it to work?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Vtec

    Vtec Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    96
    4
    16
    Does your phone find the hotspot?
     
  3. GOLDSNIPER

    GOLDSNIPER Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    MyWi creates Ad-Hoc wireless connections which some devices such as the PS3 cannot read. Is it possible the Captivate doesn't support Ad-Hoc connections?
     
  4. circazero

    circazero Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    51
    11
    18
    LA, CA
    The captivate doesn't even see the wifi network I create.
    Other devices tried do. :(
     
  5. rlb4

    rlb4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    253
    12
    38
    NJ
    I have an iPhone 3G with mywi and my captivate can see the iPhone but it does not connect.
     
  6. NaplesBill

    NaplesBill Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    142
    19
    38
    Naples, FL
    Android phones do NOT currently support Ad-Hoc wireless networks. It's a bit ironic because the wifi tether app for Android also creates an Ad-Hoc network.
     
  7. rlb4

    rlb4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    253
    12
    38
    NJ
    Oops. I was mistaken. My captivate cannot see my iPhone using mywi.
     
  8. thefunks67

    thefunks67 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    56
    3
    16
    I didn't think an ad-hoc network was created using MyWi. It's suppose to act like a wireless AP.

    -Funk
     
  9. dang1

    dang1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Any updates or workarounds on this? So, apparently Android phones still do NOT currently support Ad-Hoc wireless networks? I want to use my Windows Mobile 6.1 Samsung Omnia as a wifi hotspot using Wmwifirouter for a friend’s Samsung Android 2.1 Galaxy S Captivate. However, the Captivate’s wifi is not able to find the Omnia as a hotspot. I’m able to have other devices- laptops, iTouch, find and use the Omnia as a hotspot
     
  10. RedRyno

    RedRyno Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    207
    27
    43
    Construction
    SoCal
    Can't or just doesn't want to... :D
     
  11. seanpr123

    seanpr123 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    54
    8
    36
    Damn I'm experiencing this problem myself, thought I was going crazy!

    Any update or workaround?
     

Share This Page

Loading...