1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Captivate Locks Up Hard during Froyo DL

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dumdum, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. dumdum

    dumdum Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    5
    0
    25

    Using Kies Mini I was just doing an update, not really aware that it may be the 2.2. Anyhow it locked up at 8% of the dowload. I emergency recovered it and it'd go 11% before locking up. I emergency recovered it one more time and it went 11% again then locked up. I have since been unable to get it to recognize my phone. Anhow, this all began over two hours ago. I'll try another computer.
    I do get two of the following on my phone screen...
    1. I get the yellow guy shoveling when I vol up and vol down while plugging in cord with the text "downloading" and "do not turn off target". Nothing happens there sitting 30+minutes.
    2. I get white outlines of a phone and computer separated by an orange exclamation point sign. Nothing happens for extended periods.
    Help would be appreciated. Thanks guys!
    Oh, as you may already can tell I am not very computer savvy.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dante04SRT

    Dante04SRT Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    138
    14
    38
    Your phone is 'soft-bricked'. The only thing I can tell you is you will need to download ODIN (available in the AIO-Toolbox) and reflash to stock. This will take your phone back to 100% out-of-the-box stock. Unfortunately, when your phone is in this state, you will lose any information that isn't saved on either an external SD card or your SIM card.

    AIO-Toolbox:
    [PROGRAM] AIO Captivate Toolbox 3.0 NOW LIVE *Smaller, Faster, + More Automation* - xda-developers

    Here' a basic video on how to use ODIN:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cEjTaFg_2Ks

    The ODIN (3button fix version in AIO Toolbox) has the PIT/PDA files included already - Its as simple as selecting PIT/PDA and there is a file that you will see for each.

    Watch the video, and follow the instructions - You'll be able to get your phone back to stock.
     
  3. mikeaustin

    mikeaustin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    10
    0
    35
    Austin
    Same thing happened to me and I had to send the damn thing to Samsung. They flashed in 2.2 and sent back.

    So far love Froyo, but that was not the way I intended to "upgrade". Although CS was pretty good, appears they have had a lot of these and shuffle them in and out quickly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...