1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Captivate Speed problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chrisphoenix7, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. chrisphoenix7

    chrisphoenix7 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    52
    2
    16
    Indiana, U.S.A.
    I've had my Captivate for a month now. First android i've ever had. I love it, but it is god-awful slow sometimes for no apparent reason. I can have just one app running and it lags SO BAD. it does when downloading from market, but i expect that. Any ideas to fix it?
    Also, the system update won't work anymore. I use my phone to tether because I have no consistent internet access otherwise, but how come the update quit? I cant get froyo (when it comes out sometime this next decade) without the updater! Help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    1. Slowness: what app(s) do you have lurking in the background?
    2. Updates:

    From the Home screen, press the Menu button and select Settings.
    1. Select Application, then Manage Applications
    2. Press the Menu button, then Filter, then select Running.
    3. Scroll down the list and select Device management.
    4. Under the Storage section, press the Clear data button.
    5. Power your phone off, then back on.

    See if it works for you. If not, there's another method that requires root and can be found here:

    Software Updates - CapFAQ

    3. Froyo. You'll likely be retrieving it through Kies, but that doesn't mean your device's update function shouldn't work.
     
  3. chrisphoenix7

    chrisphoenix7 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    52
    2
    16
    Indiana, U.S.A.
    Okay, the clear data didn't work. It did, but it just redownloaded my JH2 (i think it is) update and quit working again. . I know there's a way to update firmware thru kies, and I figured 2.2 would go thru kies, but how do i do it? I have the full kies software, not mini. I can't find anyway to update my firmware thru that. This is really bugging me.
     
  4. sremick

    sremick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    2,521
    356
    163
    IT Admin
    USA
    1) Android 2.2 "Froyo" has not been released for the Captivate yet. You will not get it OTA or via Kies or Kies Mini yet.

    2) Use Kies Mini to update, not full Kies. Instructions for using Kies Mini to update to JH7 is present on the Captivate FAQ which you were already referred and linked to:

    I897UCJH7 - CapFAQ
     
    chrisphoenix7 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...