1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Car Stereo USB Auto-mount?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NYC Coyote, May 26, 2010.

  1. NYC Coyote

    NYC Coyote Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    247
    68
    53
    New York
    So I'm most likely picking up the Clarion C500 (not from here but so you can see which it is: Clarion CZ500 CD receiver at Crutchfield.com ) for my Altima tomorrow (purchased and installed for 250)....

    It has both bluetooth and usb.

    Has anyone plugged the Incredible into a Car Stereo via USB? I would love the option to mount the phone just like on the computer.... The choice of just getting power or mounting (figure I can use all the apps if I use bluetooth but would love to provide power through the usb). Is this possible?

    Also if anyone else has plugged one of the Incredibles in through USB and tried to mount...which drive does the car stereo see? The internal 8 gig or the SD Card? Unlike a computer I doubt there would be a choice.
     

    Advertisement

  2. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    I have plugged mine into one of my friends' stereos, it just started to charge, and didn't prompt to select a connection type, leading me to believe the data pins weren't connected in the stereo (although it said it could take USB drives)
     
  3. NYC Coyote

    NYC Coyote Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    247
    68
    53
    New York
    Thanks for the info...anyone else have any experience?

    I'll definitely chime in with what I find out.

    I have heard that the Alpine CDE-103BT which is roughly the same price, that it will auto connect the phone through bluetooth, and if you are listening to the radio interrupt it for an incoming phone call...while this one won't. You need to tell it to use the bluetooth source and then answer the call. Also the Alpine apparently has much better sound quality for phone calls over bluetooth.

    Unfortunately though it doesn't contain the profiles for streaming audio, one of three reasons I'm picking up the Clarion. The other two being it has a clip on mic for the visor as well as a remote.

    Just hoping I get the option to use the onboard storage through USB when I want (sdcard as I have a 16gb with my music on it) as well as the option to simply charge.

    I will definitely update this thread with my experiences...but still would love to garner opinions.
     
  4. contagous

    contagous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    966
    132
    93
    Gfx Design / Network Engineer
    Seattle WA
    I haven't got mine yet, so can't test it, but my omnia mounts as a disk drive in my Pioneer deck, BUT it it doesn't charge, not enough power on output.

    Im hope my Inc will, as the omnia needed alot of power to charge, not sure exactly how much. On another note, my friends I-Phone charged and mounted on my Pioneer deck, but its sold with IPhone support so not suprising why.

    Pioneer DEH-P6200BT CD receiver at Crutchfield Signature


    Thats the one im using..



    *edit*

    Oh i should add I have to set the Omnia up as Mass USB Storage for this to work...
     
  5. Musky

    Musky Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    1,848
    376
    173
    Male
    Computer Tech
    San Diego
    I know this isn't what you were asking, but just to let you know. I bought the same Clarion Stereo from Newegg and have returned it twice for a replacement and am now waiting for the Clarion manufacturers warranty to replace it a third time. If I could just exchange it for another, I would do that, but it's too late now. I have had nothing but problems with it, mostly the sound just cuts out for several seconds up to several minutes at a time. That's the worse problem, but there has been many others.

    Like I said, just want to give you a heads up.
     
  6. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    2,188
    207
    143
    College Student
    NC
    i have heard of others sayin they got theirs to mount though usb to their stereo
     
  7. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    I will try it later on my AVH-P3200BT, but I vaguely remember trying already and it didnt work.
     
  8. NYC Coyote

    NYC Coyote Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    247
    68
    53
    New York
    Thanks. This is from my local guys who are also doing the install...so if there is an issue it will be covered. Mostly cause I just moved out of NYC and haven't done an install on my own for 15 years...let someone else do it for the money.

    And its covered that way.

    Also I'm surprised...most reviews I have seen on it are great.
     
  9. NYC Coyote

    NYC Coyote Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    247
    68
    53
    New York
    Which drive mounted though? The sdcard or the internal?
     
  10. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    2,188
    207
    143
    College Student
    NC
    sd i think
     
  11. Musky

    Musky Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    1,848
    376
    173
    Male
    Computer Tech
    San Diego
    Yes, I looked at the reviews also. After three units with basically the same problems, I'm starting to suspect I might have a shorted speaker or something, although they all seem to work fine and my last stereo had no issues with the same setup. I just upgraded for the newer features like Bluetooth and USB connectivity.
     
  12. NYC Coyote

    NYC Coyote Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    247
    68
    53
    New York
    Yep.....This is actually my father's car (hey..I just moved out of Manhattan and haven't needed a car in 15 years - lucky the ol' man is letting me use his).....And he has the stock system that the Altima came with. Not even an aux input.

    So this is going to give me Aux, USB and Bluetooth streaming. Just wish it has the same bluetooth phone call quality as that Alpine one. Also read you can't keep the clock on the screen of the stereo.

    Like I said. I'll update tomorrow (my local shop was out of them today and should get more either tomorrow or Friday). They are putting one aside for me and said install will take them about 30 min.
     
  13. iphoney

    iphoney Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    So would you potentially be able to get app audio (Pandora, et al) thru the USB port? From what I've read here the proprietary USB out has audio left and audio right pins.
     
  14. NYC Coyote

    NYC Coyote Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    247
    68
    53
    New York
    I doubt it. For that you would need a cable that guys from the usb to the aux input.

    The USB port on these radios are for mounting a drive.

    I was delayed today and should be getting it tomorrow for me to play with and report back.
     
  15. NYC Coyote

    NYC Coyote Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    247
    68
    53
    New York
    Ok...so I just picked up and had installed the Clarion C500.

    So far only had the chance to try it on the way from the place home, so I will give a more detailed review once the weekend is over (lot of Memorial Day driving).

    Some phone specific first impressions though:
    The bluetooth streams incredibly well. While streaming my own music collection I was using the navigation as a test. The navigation DOES NOT pause the music. It will speak INSTEAD OF the music. And then your music will continue.

    When I plugged it into the USB connection of the stereo I DID get the option to either mount or charge only. I decided to charge only as I was testing the bluetooth streaming. It did charge, although at the same speed as charging through your computer. So I think an actual charger will give more power when using GPS (will be able to test on a longer drive)(that will probably be based on the Stereo's output of power through USB and not the phone)

    I will give a more thorough review of both the phone and pairing with this stereo (it is one of the cheaper ones that support all bluetooth profiles as well as being both hd and sat ready with itunes tagging - it also is ipod ready with full controls .

    Hope everyone is having a great long weekend. And remember why its called Memorial day and think of the ones who put their lives on the line for us. (and that's the end of my short soapbox rant)
     
    Musky likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...