1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Carrier IQ on DROID3?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Unicorn512, Dec 1, 2011.

  1. Unicorn512

    Unicorn512 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    141
    11
    38
    Male
    Idaho
    I have been reading a lot of news reports about "Carrier IQ" and the modules they develop and how the carriers imbed them in smartphones. It seems they are actually spyware and the company claims don't match the researchers data about what is collected.

    Does this code exist on the DROID3 platform? If so, what are the modules called? Can we disable the code since we have root access?

    Does anyone care? My life is unremarkable, but that does not mean I am comfortable with a "silent partner" reporting everything I do with my D3.
     

    Advertisement

    azdawg likes this.
  2. MicroNix

    MicroNix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    472
    37
    63
    According to a tweet from VZW, no Verizon devices have the Carrier IQ software installed on the stock rom.
     
  3. Unicorn512

    Unicorn512 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    141
    11
    38
    Male
    Idaho
    Glad to hear that VZN doesn't have Carrier IQ software.

    I wonder if they wrote their own? Perhaps the researchers who uncovered what was happening on the other devices will one day take a look at the D3.

    So many smartphones. So little time.

    They say ignorance is bliss....
     
  4. jaycbrf4

    jaycbrf4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011

    Sep 21, 2011
    83
    13
    18
    Male
    Actually, that is not true. Verizon does collect data from the phones, it is just not called CIQ.

    View details here: Verizon | About Verizon - Privacy Policy you have the option to OPT OUT of Verizon Data Collection.

    The Droid 3 Data Collection is done by Motorola, not Verizon.

    The apps are called:

    DataCollection.apk
    DataCollectionProvider.apk
    DataCollectionService.apk

    Located in System>App...

    I wouldn't worry about it. If you have a PC you have been spied on since you got it. All PC's running Windoze "Phone Home" to Microsoft. And most apps on the Mac "Phone Home" as well every time launched to verify serial numbers and system data.

    On the Mac there is a program called "Little Snitch" that is a must have for those with questionably obtained software, music, or movies. Little Sitch will tell you what is attempting to make an http request and gives you the option to allow or block.

    Hopefully someone will find a way to block CIQ type data collection on our Android devices.

    For the most part, I think the data collected, although an invasion of our privacy, is only used for marketing or device usage details... ( I HOPE):rolleyes:
     
  5. Unicorn512

    Unicorn512 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    141
    11
    38
    Male
    Idaho
    Has anyone tried to freeze the data collection apps?

    I am willing to try myself, but I don't want to make the D3 un-bootable and I am not sure how to unfreeze something if the D3 will not boot up.
     
  6. DeadChex

    DeadChex Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    96
    10
    18

    Just make a nandroid backup before hand, then if it can't boot just restore. Let us know how it goes
     
  7. redsox985

    redsox985 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    537
    71
    78
    Unless you fool with the radio hack and don't have the 128 character strings backed up, this phone is just about impossible to perma-brick. Just charge your battery fully before doing any mods and keep an eye on it as you try things. You can't SBF with a low battery and you can't charge a brick.
     
  8. Unicorn512

    Unicorn512 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    141
    11
    38
    Male
    Idaho
    As suggested, I made a backup, then froze the three data collection modules.

    My D3 booted normally and seems to be operating normally. I have not checked every application, but the ones I use most are working just fine.

    At this point, you can probably add these data collection modules to the list of apps that are safe to freeze.

    Since I never knew exactly what was being collected, I don't know what is no longer being collected or sent.

    Only time will tell.

    Also the performance doesn't seem any different. Need to run for a while to see if battery usage is changed at all (I suspect not, it was pretty good before.)
     
  9. redsox985

    redsox985 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    537
    71
    78
    Thanks for that. I just froze those 3 with TB. We'll see how this goes.
     
  10. NancyFerrigan

    NancyFerrigan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hey I was curious as to how it went freezing those 3 data collection apps?
     

Share This Page

Loading...