1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Carrier without automatic data plan

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by magnificence, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. magnificence

    magnificence Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Hi all,

    I'm thinking of buying an unlocked android phone and using it without a data plan, I can live with wi-fi only. But with which carriers am I able to use my android without automatically being charged for a data plan, unlike AT&T?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    You should be able to on AT&T or T-mobile, being that they use GSM, and you can swap out phones at any time. It's far harder to do so on Verizon or Sprint.

    Just get a dumbphone plan and dumbphone on Tmobile or AT&T, and swap out the SIM card to the Android phone as you wish.
     
  3. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ
    This is probably not an answer you would consider, but the i1 on Boost Mobile would not require a data plan. Last time I used an iDEN phone, any data usage by apps was not even something they tracked, much less billed for. If you wanted to use the built-in browser, that was $10/month on Boost, but using Opera Mini was free. Things may be different with an iDEN Android phone though.
     
  4. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,612
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    1,612
    108
    163
    Baltimore, Maryland
  5. magnificence

    magnificence Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    But when I chatted with one of the AT&T helpers (s)he said that I would be charged for a data plan automatically with any smartphone. So you mean that that isn't true at all?

    I know, but I'm not sure if that's the phone I want.
     
  6. clutchy

    clutchy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    243
    12
    38
    it's not true, if you are NOT on contract they can't charge you for anything you didn't agree to. If you buy an unlocked phone then you can do whatever you want with it.

    I have an N1 and I use data tethering fairly frequently... do they charge me $20/mo. for it? no b/c i'm off contract and didn't sign up for it. My software supports it so i can do whatever i want. I pay for a data plan b/c i like using data, but if i didn't want data i could call up at any time and have them remove it from my plan.


    if more people understood this concept we'd have alot more accountable service providers...

    walk into the store ask for the plan you want, pick up your SIM chip. Leave the store and stick it in your phone...
     
  7. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    That's not exactly true.

    If you use a smartphone, but don't use the data, you'll be fine.

    But if you start using data on the phone, the carrier *may* detect that you're using a smartphone, and *may* require you to get a data plan.

    But more often than not, you may just get charged per kilobyte of data you use, and never hear from the carrier. So it all varies depending on how you use the phone and how the carrier may or may not react.
     

Share This Page

Loading...