1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] Fastboot OEM unlock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lpjzfan2005, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. lpjzfan2005

    lpjzfan2005 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    15
    4
    16
    Htc has a minor update to fix a calendar bug in the software the first day the phone comes out, but I read here that it also updates the bootloader. So this goes out to the people that have them, can yall try the Fastboot unlock from adb? I have a feeling it will be overlooked because of the exploits we had had to use to root phones before! If they unlocked the bootloader this quick it would be great!
    I get mine at 12 on Friday but I wanna see this attempted before I get it!
    Thanks in advance guys.
     

    Advertisement

  2. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    I was able to get the phone to find the update manually. Installing now. will see if I can use fastboot to unlock.
     
  3. lpjzfan2005

    lpjzfan2005 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    15
    4
    16

    Well I just looked on XDA, people are saying the bootloader is still locked and the update closes the only exploit used for gingerbreak... Might be better to stay away from this one if you want a a chance at root
     
  4. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    not too concerned at this point. gingerbreak was pretty hit or miss. we'll see better exploits soon enough.
     
  5. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    So I took the OTA update and am on the HBOOT screen. This version is dated June 8. S-ON.

    When I try to issue the fastboot command via my PC, it gets stuck on <waiting for device>

    Steps:

    1) boot into HBOOT. choose FASTBOOT. If you have drivers installed, and phone is plugged in via usb cable, it will say FASTBOOT USB.

    2) from PC, issue the command "fastboot oem unlock" fastboot.exe comes with the Android SDK.

    3) see if it works.

    Looks like a no-go. HBOOT was updated from May 20 to June 8. Looks like whatever they did, they didn't plan to unlock it for this version...
     
    lpjzfan2005 likes this.
  6. lpjzfan2005

    lpjzfan2005 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    15
    4
    16
    Thanks for trying man, sucks to see they haven't unlocked it yet. I'm guessing they will go the route of an optional ruu but that is complete speculation. Once again thanks for trying and I hope we can get this phone rooted soon!
     
  7. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Or they are going to launch simultaneous unencrypted bootloaders for both the Sensation and E3D. I doubt the bootloaders are too much different between the models.
     
  8. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,192
    266
    163
    Already chompin' at the bit over here....;-)
     
  9. thelonewizard

    thelonewizard Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    256
    49
    63
    Student
    Indiana
    While we're on the subject, how would one get the drivers for a Windows 7 (HP Pavilion with an Intel Core 2 Duo CPU) so I can use the Android SDK? IT said it didn't auto-install them. :/
     
  10. wirelessness

    wirelessness Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    11
    0
    15
    All I can say. Even if there is a Root exploit, this thing is going back unless HTC unlocks the Bootloader like they promised. Period.
     
  11. lpjzfan2005

    lpjzfan2005 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    15
    4
    16

    Coming from a motorola backflip I'm pretty sure that I'll be fine with stock even if it has launcher pro over it cause its a Huge upgrade. But my crappy backflip is the reason I'm into modding, honestly I don't care at this point as long as I get root. Also it officially launches tomorrow and there is a chance (albeit very small) the SMART_IO.crd will be on the root of the sd card. If it is we might be able to s-off through fastboot oem writesecureflag
    Just posting all the research i've done over at xda.
     
  12. SaleenFiend

    SaleenFiend Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    446
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    446
    93
    73
    Louisiana
    No, it's not there. It's my belief at this point that the Smart_io.crd is either a virtual partition the system or phone reads and renames (thus conflicting with our SD card attempts).


    It's been found that the CDMA workshop still works on Radio mods such as the banner name change
     
  13. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    just realized that during my earlier tests with fastboot, I didn't have the proper driver. that's why I got the < waiting for device > message.

    Not sure where to get the proper driver.... not that I could unlock it with the driver, but it would be nice to have it. Apparently the driver for the Evo 4G doesn't work with the 3D, but the adb driver from the 4G seems to work fine for both.
     
  14. SaleenFiend

    SaleenFiend Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    446
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    446
    93
    73
    Louisiana
    I haven't found the driver either.. haven't looked hard enough I guess
     
  15. thelonewizard

    thelonewizard Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    256
    49
    63
    Student
    Indiana
    Now, it could be my imagination or lack of sleep over the last few days, but after downloading HTC Sync for my HP Pavilion, I got all the drivers for the Evo 3D. When I first plugged in the E3D via USB to it, it said drivers couldn't be found. So, I removed what it DID have, DL'd HTC Sync, and BAM. Drivers.
     
  16. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    i'll give this a try. maybe my drivers are just outdated.
     
  17. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    latest HTC Sync drivers did the trick. Note that you don't actually have to install HTC Sync; the installer puts the drivers on first. Once that's done, you can just cancel the HTC Sync part of the install.

    fastboot now works with my Evo 3D. No luck unlocking it though.

    Code (Text):
    1. C:\android\platform-tools>[B]fastboot oem writesecureflag[/B]
    2. ...
    3. (bootloader) writesecureflag: Parameter error
    4. OKAY [  0.009s]
    5. finished. total time: 0.009s

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. C:\android\platform-tools>[B]fastboot oem readsecureflag[/B]
    3. ...
    4. (bootloader) secure_flag: 3
    5. OKAY [  0.007s]
    6. finished. total time: 0.008s
    7.  
    8. C:\android\platform-tools>[B]fastboot oem writesecureflag 0[/B]
    9. ...
    10. (bootloader)  shooter_init_sd, SD card already power on
    11. (bootloader) sdcc_init_memory_device done
    12. (bootloader) [FAT_ERROR] fat_open_file: can not find SMART_IO.CRD
    13. (bootloader) [JAVACARD_ERR] SMART_IO.CRD cann't find
    14. (bootloader) writesecureflag: Permission denied, value 1
    15. OKAY [  0.164s]
    16. finished. total time: 0.165s
     
  18. thelonewizard

    thelonewizard Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    256
    49
    63
    Student
    Indiana
    Glad I could help, novox! :D
     
  19. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    My computer told me it was an HTC Sensation when I originally plugged it in, I chose not to install those drivers, do you think that would work?

    If not can someone link to the proper drivers? Thanks
     
  20. thelonewizard

    thelonewizard Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    256
    49
    63
    Student
    Indiana
    Application - HTC Sync for all HTC Android Phones & HTC Smart Download this, and it will auto-install the correct drivers. Novox did it, so it must be legit. :D
     
  21. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    yep, those drivers work for all HTC Android phones.
     
  22. SaleenFiend

    SaleenFiend Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    446
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    446
    93
    73
    Louisiana
    Not too significant but root perms
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...