1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] flashing Custom ROM's to unlocked phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by emmanuel78, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. emmanuel78

    emmanuel78 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    ok, well i just recently unlocked my phone with S-on. (HTC unlock bootloader method)

    Android: 2.3.4
    HTC Sencse: 3.0
    software number: 2.17.651.5

    i want to install a Cool Custom ROM, but i dont wanna ruin my phone, i want something cool and that allows me to use my phone regulary,

    i would really appreciate it if someone could show me a VERY easy tutorial on how to do this.

    i want to install the "cleanROMreborn" i heard its cool,

    do i need to do anything else besides flash the rom? and do i need to change the kernel version?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Welcome to the forums, and the world of rooting!!! :)

    The best way to show you how to flash roms is to follow jerofld's guide found here .

    Following that guide is the best way to flash a rom for the new Hboot and S-ON.

    Make sure you do Step 2, and replace the stock rom in that step with the rom of your choice.

    Since your Hboot is already unlocked, you can skip Step 4.

    Changing kernels is a little more involved with S-ON, so lets concentrate on getting a ROM flashed first, then we'll get started on Kernels. :)

    If you have any issues or questions please let us know. :)
     
    emmanuel78 likes this.
  3. emmanuel78

    emmanuel78 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    thanks for the kindness, i thought i was gonna get flamed..

    i have the one i want,

    now does flashing a ROM mean putting it onto my phone?

    then for the kernel, i need to have a matching kernel for the ROM and then i just change the kernel?

    am i understanding this right?
     
  4. emmanuel78

    emmanuel78 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    how do i make a back up of my phone settings and all right now? just in case i wanted to go back to my original settings...
     
  5. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    You shouldn't ever have to worry about being flamed on Android Forums. If you ever do get attacked or insulted, please click the [​IMG] button next to the offending post. We take matters like this very seriously.

    Flashing the ROM means installing the ROM. It's just computer lingo for installing software onto a flash drive.

    Every ROM comes with a kernel built in. So don't worry about flashing a kernel separately. But, as a HBOOT 1.5 user, you just have to be careful of how you flash ROMs, so that the included kernel flashes properly. But if you were to flash a custom kernel on top of the ROM, yes, you would flash it after flashing the ROM.

    The guide I wrote (and the one Granite1 linked) goes over how to make backups and how to flash everything properly. Give it a read! Just skip step 4, as you're already unlocked.
     
    Granite1 and emmanuel78 like this.
  6. emmanuel78

    emmanuel78 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    alright thanks, i appreciate it. i will get back to you guys after i have done this. thanks!
     
  7. emmanuel78

    emmanuel78 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    i need some help, i got to the part where i have a green and black screen,

    in the tutorial i dont understand what it means by:

    "Now that we have TWRP 1.1.1 installed, we should make a back up. This is done by using the volume keys and pushing power as enter. Now you have a few options. You can back up as much or as little as you want. But I'd recommend that you backup:

    System
    Data
    Boot
    Wimax

    Everything else is optional, in my opinion."

    could you tell me how to back up everything of mine? thats important so i dont brick my phone?

    please and thanks...
     
  8. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    That green and black screen should read "Team Win Recovery Project 1.1.1" at the top. TWRP = Team Win Recovery Project

    Scroll to backup/restore using the volume keys and then push the power button. It'll then give 2 options (if I'm remembering all of this correctly, I haven't used TWRP in a while) backup and restore. You want backup. Then it'll give you options on what you want to back up. You definitely want the four options I listed, but you can check everything if you so desire. Then wait for the backup to complete.
     
  9. emmanuel78

    emmanuel78 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    ok, i just backed up my phone.

    now im at the part where its telling me to find the ROM.

    when i go to ROM's in my sdcard. i select the ROM im using, (cleanROM reborn 1.1)

    and it shows me that all the files are on the sdcard but i cant find out how to flash the whole ROM

    it doesnt give me an option. (that i see at least)

    oh and just adding: i can see the ROM in my sd card. just cant flash it
     
  10. emmanuel78

    emmanuel78 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    ok, i got to the part where im ready to flash

    when im trying to flash the ROM it tells me

    "MD5 not the same" or something like that

    im using "meanROM"

    please help me out.
     
  11. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Uncheck the option that says to check for MD5 Checksum. That'll make it flash without checking MD5.
     
  12. emmanuel78

    emmanuel78 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    i had tried that to

    but it still didnt work. it was a bummer :(
     
  13. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    If the file is still having issues flashing, I would delete the old file and redownload the Rom. You might have a bad file.
     
  14. emmanuel78

    emmanuel78 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    i thought it was that, but i tried 3 different ROM's

    1. CleanROM1.1
    2. MeanROM
    3. ViperROM

    they all gave me the same errors.
     
  15. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
  16. emmanuel78

    emmanuel78 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    ok, im currently on my phone

    (it works fine) just like before


    and when i can i will do this.

    thank you for the response
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...