1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] Help please?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by XxGamblexX, Aug 14, 2011.

1. XxGamblexX

XxGamblexX Newbie
    None

Aug 14, 2011
    im new to this whole root. evo 3d. was first phone i ever rooted. i used revolutionary. and i got super user. is there anything else to it? or is this it? what is a custom rom like viper? i keep hearing it. but i have no clue what it is or what it does.

Advertisement

2. EarlyMon

EarlyMon The PearlyMon

Jun 10, 2010
    New Mexico, USA
    Welcome to the forums!

Wow - already rooted by the time of your first post - impressive! :)

Please make sure that you have a recovery installed too - either Clockwork Mod or TWRP. That lets you make a complete backup of your phone, an exact image of what you have now. We call that a nandroid backup. Always make one before modifying things, so you can recover to your previous working setup if you ever need to - hence the name for the software, recovery.

A custom rom replaces the software that comes with your phone. Sometimes the dev will just remove some bloatware, some will remove Sense to create a sleeker layout.

Here's the complete list of custom roms, with descriptions, for the Sprint version of the 3D -

[Complete LIST] Guides | Roms | Rooting | Recovery | Radio's -- Updated 8.11.11 - xda-developers

Your best bet is to get your roms from there and to get your questions answered here - our deal is that we're a bit more patient with each other's questions here.

3. EarlyMon

EarlyMon The PearlyMon

Jun 10, 2010
    New Mexico, USA
    PS - Probably the next thing you want after recovery and a nandroid is to get Titanium Backup. The free version will get you started, and the paid version does more.

With that, you can make your backups of your apps, app data and other configuration stuff.

The gang here can be trusted to give you great advice on backup strategies as well as using various roms.

4. XxGamblexX