1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] im a dummy

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rbeau1990, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. rbeau1990

    rbeau1990 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Well got my EVO 3d while I was busy looking at cases the clerk took it soon himself to update the phone. So now I'm stuck with 1.50 hboot. Is there anyway i can root s-off or do I have to wait for revolutionary? I saw mentioned on sea they didn't plan on it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    U can root with htc method, that is why I don't let the people at the store touch the phone. Every smart phone I have bought at att sprint radio Shack etc I have powered on and decided to update or not. This is a lesson for all
     
  3. rbeau1990

    rbeau1990 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    From what read that only gives me s-on.
     
  4. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    It gives you root access the ability to flash roms. While you will still have s on you will be rooted
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,466
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,466
    8,284
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    But also tells HTC that you unlocked your Bootloader and they will know and have it recorded, and there would go your warranty, I would wait and see if Revo comes out with a root S-OFF with HBoot 1.50 without using HTC to unlock your bootloader.
     
  6. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    I would of handed it back to him and said I would have updated it myself if I wanted it updated.
     
  7. chrisedwards12

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    I would have Thrown it back at him.. Welcome to the Hboot 1.50 club... It's exclusive to dummies like myself.. LOL!!! Im just kidding.. Hopefully we will have a solution to get s-off before too long.. Hopefully..
     
  8. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    in the revolutionary irc channel 30 secs ago
    [09:21] <wake69> will there be an update for the evo 3d 1.5 cdma bootloader?
    [09:21] <@IEF> no
    [09:21] <@IEF> there won't
    [09:21] <wake69> thank you
    [09:22] <wake69> i dont need it just a question
    [09:22] <@IEF> we might figure out a way to downgrade to 1.40 at some point, which we will release then, but don't count on it
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,466
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,466
    8,284
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Makes me say Phew, glad I didn't do the OTA update before rooting with REVO


     
  10. Jackietreehorn

    Jackietreehorn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    315
    123
    68
    Twin Cities, MN
    That sucks, and I would honestly think about returning if it's that big of a deal to you.
     
  11. JD_from_da_80s

    JD_from_da_80s Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    203
    38
    63
    40
    I 2nd that, let them know you didn't want your phone updated & request a new one
     
  12. Twitchh

    Twitchh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    29
    5
    16
    When I got my phones I watched the sales rep turn everything on and when the checking for update screen came up I reached across the counter and pressed cancel myself.
     
  13. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    If it makes you feel better, the concerns that unlocking your bootloader through the official HTC process will be a warranty voiding action are not known.

    What we do know is that doing so logs your phone's information with the HTC database, so they know you've unlocked the bootloader and that you accept Terms of Service that where you &#8220;accept legal disclaimers that unlocking may void all or parts of your warranty.&#8221;

    From a legal standpoint, I believe under the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act ( Magnuson?Moss Warranty Act - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia ) that a warranty cannot be flatly and unilaterally denied. In other words, I believe it is arguable that a warranty request for an issue unrelated to the bootloader must be honored. In other words, if the headphone jack stops working, that is something clearly unrelated to software or the use of third party ROMs, and the use of an unlocked bootloader should not void warranty coverage for that. On the other hand, if you somehow brick your phone trying to flash a corrupted ROM, then that ought to fall under warranty cancellation.

    The big IF question is whether HTC would attempt to void the entire warranty based on the bootloader unlocking, at which point it would require some legal action which is probably not worth the cost.
     
    Twitchh likes this.
  14. rbeau1990

    rbeau1990 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    A word of warning if you get the phone through Walmart and you need to exchange it it has to be done at the exact Walmart you bought it out can't do it at a Sprint store
    This was a problem for me I AK a truck driver from Florida. I bought ny phone in new York and just tried exchanging in north Carolina. Looking the manager called the one where I bought it and they got it taken care of after about 90 minutes.

    I now have a phone that has hboot 1.3
     
  15. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,192
    266
    163
    I wouldn't worry too much about all of this. I rooted using HTC method and it works exactly like any s-off phone. IOW, no regrets here. I think y'all are making a bigger deal out of it than need be. Root your phone with whatever method and enjoy!!!!
     
  16. SolApathy

    SolApathy Just another robot
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,864
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    1,864
    1,523
    333
    Male
    IT
    Ohio
    I would have made them give me another phone.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...