1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] {May Work On The 3VO!!} New HTC EVO rooting method now available: HTC Supertool

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DonB, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,532
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,532
    8,440
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    New HTC EVO rooting method now available: HTC Supertool

    [​IMG]
    No matter which HTC EVO device you own, and no matter how many OTA updates you have taken, there is now officially nothing stopping you from rooting your phone. This is all thanks to HTC Supertool, a new method of rooting almost all HTC Android devices, and it's been confirmed to work on the HTC EVO 4G, the EVO 3D, the EVO Design 4G, the EVO View 4G, and even the red-headed stepchild better known as the EVO Shift 4G.
    In addition to unlocking the bootloader and rooting your phone, this tool offers additional options to "De-Sense" your phone, re-enable Sense, unroot your phone, relock the bootloader, enable wireless tethering, and flash a new(er) version of the Android Market.
    I can't personally test this on my EVO View tablet, as it's currently out for repairs. And my EVO 3D is already rooted and running Fresh 4.1.0 (a great ROM, by the way!). But if you have held off on rooting until an easier method were to come along, this might be just what you're looking for.
    Download links and full instructions are at the link below. And if you end up giving this a shot, be sure to let us know how you like it!


    [UTIL][12/07] HTC Super Tool v2 - xda-developers
     

    Advertisement

  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,532
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,532
    8,440
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Here I posted this for those of you that want to try this method and report back, good luck and enjoy. ;)
     
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,532
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,532
    8,440
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Doing more research and reading, seems like it does not work on HBoot 1.50
     
  4. devinEVO

    devinEVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    176
    56
    53
    Self Employed
    S.E. OK
    damnit lol i thought i was gonna get s-off guess ill leave it alone haha
     
  5. beatdroppah

    beatdroppah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    114
    10
    38
    Indiana
    yeah didnt work for me for my Evo 3D either. sigh....cant get ANY method to work..
     
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,532
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,532
    8,440
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    The HTC Unlock way works



     
  7. beatdroppah

    beatdroppah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    114
    10
    38
    Indiana
    doesnt work for me. ive tried at least a dozen times..and i never get the unlock bootloader screen to popup on my phone at the last step.. apparently thats a known issue, and a battery pull or 2 will usually help trigger it upon the next try,. but ive done that 10 times, and its never worked. still wont. so frustrated. going from having a Captivate and being able to do and put whatever i want on there, to having the 3VO, that i cant get to work, is really frustrating me.,.
     
  8. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,532
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,532
    8,440
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Read your other post I posted info there


     
  9. beatdroppah

    beatdroppah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    114
    10
    38
    Indiana
    i did, the one about referring to the 7th post? thats all about people not getting the email with the token in it. i get that email every time. no problem there. my problem is the close to last step where the command prompt on the computer is supposed to push the unlock token to my phone, and give me the unlock bootloader screen, the process always shows success, and says the token was sent successfully, but never works.
     
  10. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,532
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,532
    8,440
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Are you using the latest SDK Version ??


     
  11. dgrobe2112

    dgrobe2112 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    462
    76
    63
    Male
    Waco, TX
    so.. has this been able to work on the 3vo??
     
  12. pushin30

    pushin30 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012

    Jan 18, 2012
    17
    3
    16
    does this flash to phone or run on pc sorry newb? the reason i am asking is i would like to update my radios with htc update and am unsure how to go about un rooting then rerooting.
    all ready rooted
    hboot 1.5
    software 2.08.651.3
    android 2.3.4
    htc method rom= su-2.3.6.3-efgh-signed.zip
     
  13. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    It is a tool to run on pc
     
    pushin30 likes this.
  14. pushin30

    pushin30 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012

    Jan 18, 2012
    17
    3
    16
    any idea on how to get ota update on hboot 1.5 safley
     
  15. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
  16. pushin30

    pushin30 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012

    Jan 18, 2012
    17
    3
    16
    when i flash with twrp it keeps rebooting (OTA_Shooter_S_Sprint_WWE_2.17.651.5-2.08.651.3_release)
    will this tool help
     
  17. pushin30

    pushin30 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012

    Jan 18, 2012
    17
    3
    16
  18. Apollion

    Apollion Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    Look for those of you on hboot 1.50 the HTC unlock method is just fine. You can flash all roms and kernels and recoveries on the go easy I do it all the time, using flash image GUI app. I payed for mine and it works great.if your flashing a nandroid just save the boot.img and modules and flash that through the app before running the nandroid backup. I hope that helps somebody out there
     
  19. gsxrrider

    gsxrrider Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012

    Jan 26, 2012
    2
    0
    25
    It took me a while to figure it out, but all you have to do is downgrade your rom to 2.08.651.2 RUU. Once you download it and install it the htcdev unlock will work. Hope this helps.



    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1239821
     
  20. beatdroppah

    beatdroppah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    114
    10
    38
    Indiana
    tried it, didnt work. wouldnt even let me to the downgrade. got a 140 error saying my bootloader version is wrong or something. idk
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...