1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] My step by step root process!!!{Success}

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DonB, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,502
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,502
    8,359
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    OK, I am going to root later on today via revolutionary, now it looks like getting the S-OFF is the easy part, running the recovery is a hit or miss from what I have read, so I am posting here for my progress and for others to learn at the same time.

    Post all comments if any before I root later today, if recovery does not work what options do you offer, and if there is anything else I need to know, errors I may run into that you have experienced, or tips and tricks, please post and I will read this thread later on before I start my process, any advice is welcomed, the more info we have the easier it will make for all that read this thread. I will post the video process I will use below, for others to follow suit.

    Thanks in advance Don B.
    ;) :)

    [Part 1] S-OFF/Root Guide for HTC EVO 3D (Revolutionary) - YouTube

    [Part 2] S-OFF/Root Guide for HTC EVO 3D (Revolutionary) - YouTube
     

    Advertisement

    eetbum likes this.
  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,502
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,502
    8,359
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    OK I will typed a quick version of the step by step I will use, anyone can chime in if I missed anything before I start and I will edit.

    Boot into recovery and verify what Hboot version you have, this root process only works with 1.30 and 1.40
    Go to settings/applications/Development, make sure you turn USB debugging on, then back out twice, go to Power, and turn off fastboot, or you will not be able to boot into recovery. Now turn your phone completely off, once off, hold the Volume down button and then hold the power button at the same time and hold until you see the HBoot screen, once there check which HBoot version you are on and write it down or remember it. Once done then you will follow the steps below.

    1st Step is to download SDK files for windows if you are a windows user, Android SDK | Android Developers, then go back to the Revolutionary website and then download the FB drivers and the revolutionary tool
    FastBoot drivers
    Revolutionary Tool

    Now plug the USB cable into the phone connected to the PC, Now go back to your PC and back to the Revolutionary web page and scroll to the bottom where it had the beta key box and fill in your info, remember the HBoot version I had you verify at the beginning, enter all your info, then open revolutionary folder and run the revo.exe file. and copy the serial number, then paste the number in the beta key box where it ask for your serial number, copy the key that it generates, and paste it in the CMD prompt box from revolutionary, and hit enter and that should start the root process, let the phone do it's thing. Once close to being done it should try to load a recovery, it may fail if it does then you will have to load a recovery manually or re-run Revolutionary, once done it should say at the top "revolutionary and should say S-Off", now it should ask you if you want to download Clockworkmod recovery and click yes, type Y and hit enter, once done if successful, on the phone scroll down with the volume key and reboot by hitting the power button, once during the rebooting process follow the onscreen prompts, then once done we will install the Superuser app, for full root access, for that process you will need to mount the phone to instal the SU app on the root of your SD card, you will get the zip file from the Wiki page from Revolutionary, click HERE and download to your PC and then transfer to the root of your SD card. Once done, unmount your phone. Now shut phone off completely, once off boot into recovery, ( Make sure fast boot is turned off) Volume down and power button at the same time, scroll down to recovery, then hit power button and that should boot into Clockworkmod recovery, then scroll down to install zip from SD card, hit power to select, then scroll down to the Superuser file you put on your SD card, and then hit it and install. Once done installing it the go to the back option and reboot the phone, once back up hit your apps drawer tab and check to see if you have Superuser app, if you do then your are rooted.

    Now your ready to either stay stock or flash a custom ROM, always remember Nandroid is your best friend!!!!!!
     
  3. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    Thanks and good luck~
     
  4. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    If you are unable to make/receive calls, dont hang up stay on the line and they will have u fixed in less than 5 mins
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    If recovery doesn't install simply re-run revolutionary.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,502
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,502
    8,359
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Since I have not done this yet and I have been asked, does this delete our apps, or simply roots our phone ?? want to make sure so I can make not of my apps even though they are on the Google website, I want o make note of my setup.

    And Wake you said if I can't make calls to stay on the phone and they will have me up in 5 minutes, what did you mean by that ?? do you mean of my calls don;t go through then a Sprint will come on the line, will they ask me anything, I simply tell them I can't make calls all of a sudden ??
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Nothing will be removed except your restrictions. You're simply adding a more capable recovery and superuser access after s-off.

    I ran into the no-call error. Stay on the line for the failed call. Sprint restore is painless, no need to worry or explain things, that just adds time to a rep who really only cares about getting you going.

    Possible outcomes are no issues at, data but no voice service, voice but no data, or both kaput. Anything wrong with data but voice works, call for Sprint - dial *2 and tap the top option if all else fails.

    First thing you do after you're all squared away is a nandroid backup.

    This is likely to all go much easier than you think. ;)
     
  8. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,502
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,502
    8,359
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Thanks, read the second post I saved, I did a step by step for others to see and if you can check it to see if I left anything out before I start, in case anyone decides to try the same process. ;)


     
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Correction:

    Settings, Applications, Development - make sure USB debugging is checked.
     
  10. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,502
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,502
    8,359
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Thanks my bad, that is what I meant but wrote OFF, lol

    Did you flash the latest release of stock, or are you on a custom ROM, and once rooted how do we disable OTA updates, if possible, or do we download TB and freeze the update app.



     
  11. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I'm on the latest stock rooted rom, linked in our 2.08.651.2 thread.

    That is a great upgrade if you like the stock experience.

    Went on without any loss of apps or settings. See post #9 in that thread for the step by step.

    After that, nandroid again, remove bloatware.
     
    DonB likes this.
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,502
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,502
    8,359
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I don't care about themes so the standard odexed is always ok by me. If you want to get into custom themes, then you want deodexed - that's basically the deal in general.

    And yes, after that, I installed the zip you indicate - here's the link to post #9 of the thread with instructions, and you may be interested in other notes in that thread, for your other options and so forth.

    http://androidforums.com/evo-3d-all...1-2-rom-updates-post-em-here.html#post3097134
     
  14. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    If you're not messing with themes (just going for SuperUser access), I believe odex is the way to go (somewhat of a space/speed savings, at the cost of not being able to theme easily).
     
  15. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,502
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,502
    8,359
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I will eventually flash a new ROM, so I will install Deodexed in that case, I will be doing this tomorrow as i had to work today.
     
  16. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,502
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,502
    8,359
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Do you guys have a preference of recoveries, CWM or Teamwin ?? Pros and cons, I have always used CWM before so I am use to that, but just curious of the difference between the 2
     
  17. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    I am using cwm now but once twrp has full wipe options I will begging back to them. Their nandroids are smaller for one
     
    DonB likes this.
  18. CarrieK

    CarrieK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    784
    424
    113
    Information Systems Analyst
    Nashville, TN
    Hi Don,

    I can't speak for CWM because I have never used it but based on lots of reading and research I've seen where people have had issues with it. Some like it though because it is convenient to be able to use ROM Manager. I opted for TWRP because I don't mind flashing the manual way. When I rooted and flashed on my Optimus S, it was the only way and I got accustomed to it. In fact, if you are in a situation where you can't get to the main screen it is good to know how to manually get to recovery. This is solely my opinion, others may differ. Good luck in your endeavors! :)
     
    DonB likes this.
  19. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,502
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,502
    8,359
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Thanks, yes I have never use CWM app to boot into recovery or create Nandroids, I simply used it to flash the recovery, then I would always boot into recovery the old fashion way, which I also believe is best and less issues with the Nandroids when restoring.

    OK Here I go I am going to Root in the next 5 minutes, will report back



     
  20. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,502
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,502
    8,359
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    OK done took 15 minutes from start to finish, now going to make a call and have sprint get the phone back up and running as I was not able to make a call as you guys mentioned.

    Flashing the new Stock update, does that delete my setup with apps or does it simply flash onto with a davlik clear ??
     
  21. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    I've used both TWRP and CWM. Currently, I'm back on CWM. TWRP is organized very well, and being able to just back up certain partitions (as opposed to a full backup every time) is quite nice. But it still has some problems, like not being able to wipe batt stats properly. The last ROM I flashed with it didn't flash quite right. Plus my Acer uses CWM, so it's nice to have some consistency. But CWM has it's own issues. Like if you don't have 4.0.1.5, you won't be able to charge when the device is off. And it is kinda organized poorly in comparison to TWRP.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  22. CarrieK

    CarrieK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    784
    424
    113
    Information Systems Analyst
    Nashville, TN
    I flashed the updated stock ROM and wiped davlik cache. All is well... not one issue and all of my apps and settings stayed.
     
    DonB likes this.
  23. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,502
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,502
    8,359
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
  24. CarrieK

    CarrieK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    784
    424
    113
    Information Systems Analyst
    Nashville, TN
    DonB likes this.
  25. papabear4jc

    papabear4jc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Loveland, CO
    I was about to go through your process as shown in the videos. I went to check the Hboot version and my phone has 1.5. Am i basically screwed for right now or what?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...