1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

CDMA Phone Activation Multiple SIMs possible?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by consultant, Aug 2, 2019.

  1. consultant

    consultant Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #301
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012

    Aug 13, 2012
    156
    11
    38
    Can CDMA phones (such as for verizon) be activated, then SIM card transferred to another phone then activate the phone again with a different SIM from a different carrier or does the ESN for the physical phone get registered to the carrier and will only work with that carrier's SIM?

    Basically, I want to activate a BYOD phone for Xfinity that they won't activate because they don't support it but I know the phone will work so I was going to buy a used Samsung S8, activate the SIM, transfer to the other phone then resell the S8.
     

    Advertisement

  2. n0tall0wed

    n0tall0wed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #140
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013

    Mar 2, 2013
    279
    161
    98
    Not sure if it's the same for Xfinity but with Spectrum, one of the kids wanted an iPhone so I got one and just pulled the sim from it. Put the sim was in an extra moto e4 I had that was unlocked and activated and works perfectly fine in the supposed unsupported moto.
     
  3. consultant

    consultant Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #301
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012

    Aug 13, 2012
    156
    11
    38
    Not sure that really answers my question? What I'm wondering is that could then someone activate a different SIM in the moto e4 after you activated it?
     
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,320
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,320
    16,738
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    AFAIK with CDMA networks it's the phone's ESN, or MEID that's registered and activated on a particular network. So I don't think you can just swap SIMs around to another phone and use it.

    Originally CDMA networks and phones didn't use SIMs, and I believe the SIMs are for 4G LTE usage.
     
    MoodyBlues, psionandy and Dannydet like this.
  5. n0tall0wed

    n0tall0wed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #140
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013

    Mar 2, 2013
    279
    161
    98
    Yes you could. Spectrum uses Verizon towers which is also CDMA.
     
  6. Davdi

    Davdi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,219
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012

    Jul 4, 2012
    1,219
    653
    253
    Semi-retired developer
    The Shire
    Why stick with CDMA, Unless you're tied in to a contract? gsm is much more flexible as it DOES actually use sim cards). - This is a genuine question from the UK
     

Share This Page

Loading...