1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] ROM help... Did I break something?!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by grepper, Sep 2, 2011.

  1. grepper

    grepper Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    56
    2
    16
    Automotive Dealership Management
    Midwest
    My phone quit recognizing root status! Help, please.

    Was using FreEvo rom, decided to try out Supra Asop. Frankly didn't care for it, so I went back to recovery and restored my previous ROM. It loaded, and now I can't access any of my root apps.

    I powered down, pulled battery, still have nothing.

    After inspecting further, realized I cannot access recovery again. Without recovery, I don't know how I can even wipe and reload.

    Not sure what to do at this point. Suggestions?!
     

    Advertisement

  2. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    That's strange. Have you tried to download and install the superuser app from the market?

    Do you EVO 3D guys have TWRP recovery or Clockwork? If you use Clockwork you can d/l ROM Manager from the market and use that to install the newest version of CWM (after you regain root access) or flash TWRP from hboot (again, after root)

    If the su app didn't work, it sounds like you may have to reroot.
     
  3. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,192
    266
    163
    I am going through a very similar situation right now. I tried to boot into recovery thru the power off menu. I then pulled the battery and tried to go thru the bootloader. I then tried thru fastboot...and then tried thru ROM Manager. My next step is what Worm is suggesting....flashing CWM again the ROM Manager... I still have SU so that is good. If you don't have SU then ROM Manager won't work...

    Okay, I reflashed CWM 4.0.1.5 and still it just reboots the phone when trying to go into recovery... I will try to upgrade to the latest although I am hesitant....

    Well, I flashed the latest version of CWM(5.0.1.0) and still can't get into recovery. Any ideas???? I even tried to install the ROM thru ROM Manager and still no love.....

    I do clean my SD card on occasion... I delet stuff of of it. Would this cause issues...I wouldn't think so but just trying to help you help me.

    Not feeling all that warm and fuzzy right now....
     
  4. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Wow guys, this is bizarre. Jbaker, if you still have root, have you tried getting into recovery through hboot? Have you tried to flash TWRP in hboot (I use it on my TB and think it's nicer than CWM)?

    I don't believe deleting files from your SD would cause this. Or I should say I've never heard of that before.

    I'm signing off for the night, but I'll be back on tomorrow for a while. Will check back over here to see if you were successful and to try and help if possible. Hopefully a guide/mod who has a 3D can come in and offer some advice while I'm gone.
     
  5. grepper

    grepper Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    56
    2
    16
    Automotive Dealership Management
    Midwest
    I still have SU and ROM Manager (with CWM).

    I cannot access hboot. Power/ volume will not bring it up.

    Only thing I've done to cause change is 1) upgrade my CWM, and 2) switch ROMs.

    Appreciate any insight.

    G (may be re-rooting after all...)
     
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,409
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,409
    8,172
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    First of all make sure you fast boot is unchecked to boot into HBoot or recovery, then Fly if you have updated and still cannot get into recovery after this, then I would go back to Rom Manager and scroll to the bottom, and you will see all clockworkmod recoveries, and try flashing back your original one which should of been 4.0.1.4, see if that resolves your issue, if not give us a detail of what you have done the past couple of days that would have changed your issue, anything you downloaded and updates you did etc...

    For fast boot off, go to Menu/Settings/Power and uncheck fastboot
     
    WormDoes likes this.
  7. scrosler

    scrosler Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Edited for safety :D
     
  8. grepper

    grepper Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    56
    2
    16
    Automotive Dealership Management
    Midwest
    Update:

    My fastboot was checked. It is now unchecked, and I can get into Recovery. However, still have no root function.

    Am downloading zip file from Scosler now, will try to load that when I have a few minutes.

    One thing I saw in one of my errors: "Do not have valid busybox" or something along those lines.

    I have tried to remove / reinstall from market, but without root privilege, nothing is working yet.

    Will advise after zip install.


    G
     
  9. scrosler

    scrosler Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    If you can get into recovery then dont use my method unless you want to change from CWM to twrp. Technically if you can get into recovery you just need to flash super user.

    This method above was for people who are genuinely stuck and no matter what they do they cannot get into recovery. Yours was just a matter of fastboot.
     
    grepper likes this.
  10. grepper

    grepper Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    56
    2
    16
    Automotive Dealership Management
    Midwest
    Fixed! It was a superuser issue. I downloaded and flashed, and now full root access again.

    Thanks to all!!
     
  11. scrosler

    scrosler Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Good stuff!
     
  12. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    1 down, 1 to go. Glad you got it working, pepper.

    Baker-have you had any luck??
     
  13. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,192
    266
    163
    First off, thanks for the help fellas!!! And Worm, to answer your question, no I have not. I thought Donb might have nailed it because fastboot was checked and I unchecked it with high hopes...but no joy there.

    Just to reiterate so everyone will know where I am at:
    I think I have tried every method that I know of to get to recovery...
    I am hboot 1.5 and rooted through HTCdev.com method.
    I am running CleanRom 2.1(I was going to flash 2.2 and that is when I noticed this)

    I guess I will have to run a command prompt to see if that will work. I am not sure I will be able to get to this today. I have a lot of stuff to do and it is a holiday weekend...I might take a quick stab....
     
  14. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,192
    266
    163
    Dude, I needed that. I did download that file but needed the steps. No need to post the file...just what to do with them...
     
  15. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,409
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,409
    8,172
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Fly before trying what Scott posted, make sure you have Rom Manager and try to flash the older recovery, 4.0.1.4, I think that recovery will work with HBoot 1.50, also when you open up RM it will tell you what version recovery you are on. If worst comes to worst, I can get you to flash TWRP through RM manager also, we will simply have to rename the IMG to match the CWM one. try what I said first though and let us know. ;)


     
  16. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,192
    266
    163
    Don, .1.4 is not listed in the RM archive. Just .1.5 and later versions...
     
  17. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,409
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,409
    8,172
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Un interesting, let me see if I can find it for you, what version does it say you are on now ??


     
  18. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,409
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,409
    8,172
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I can't seem to find it either, I know i had it, but it must be on my work PC, well maybe Scott will check in and get you going, I will keep looking in the meantime, or if you want we can try flashing TWRP, and I will show you how you can do it with RM, let me know
     
  19. scrosler

    scrosler Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Whoops... lol

    1. Open up zip package to desktop (or where ever)
    2. Start command prompt in that specific folder
    3. Copy recovery.img to root of SD card
    4. In the command prompt type: fastboot flash boot boot.img
    5. When that finishes type: adb reboot recovery
    6. Profit!
     
  20. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,409
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,409
    8,172
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    If you can't do it the way Scott showed you, I will walk you through flashing TWRP through Rom Manager, I am sure it will work as I use to flash RA that way when I wanted to do it quick and was not near a PC :D
     
  21. scrosler

    scrosler Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Nevermind... edit because I am still learning to read! lol
     
  22. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,192
    266
    163
    I think I am going to need that. Not having any luck over here. I am sure it is me making some minor error but not happening...

    TIA
     
  23. scrosler

    scrosler Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    What happens when you try?
     
  24. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,409
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,409
    8,172
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    OK I am on my way out to play golf, take the TWRP IMG file and rename it to the same name of file that is in your folder for CWM, open CWM from your PC once mounted, then go to download folder, then click on the folder in there called download/clockworkmod.com/recoveries/and take the IMG file in there and make a copy and save it on your desktop, then from your desktop, take the TWRP IMG file and rename it exactly to the same name of the recovery that was in that folder(Recovery-clockwork-4.0.1.5-shooter.img, then replace with the original one in that folder on your phone, then close everything out, and then open your RM and flash recovery, that should flash the TWRP recovery for you,report back



     
    scrosler likes this.
  25. scrosler

    scrosler Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Thats sneaky! I like that!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...