1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] Rom population/popularity

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sisterwind, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. Sisterwind

    Sisterwind Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    Hi guys :)
    As i'm thinking about rooting I can't help but be overwhelmed by the number of Roms on Don's post
    [​IMG] [​IMG] Sticky: Current Roms & Kernel's for the 3VO with Kernal Info !!!
    DonB

    Is there a site that shows how many people have downloaded or run different types of roms. I looking for a basic one that is very stable.
     

    Advertisement

  2. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,778
    3,758
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    Sisterwind and toad6386 like this.
  3. toad6386

    toad6386 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    361
    196
    88
    Male
    RFID FSE
    So Cen TX
    As DS said, available ROMs for the 3VO are almost as numerous as Jelly Belly flavors, but without the calories. :D Just got to figure out what kind of candy you want to satisfy that sweet tooth. Just got be careful as ROM flashing has been known to be habit forming, not that I'd know anything about that... ;)
     
    Sisterwind likes this.
  4. Sisterwind

    Sisterwind Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    Thanks for the info :) I forgot to list reasons for rooting :)

    Reasons I want to root;
    1. LOL... I'm close to my two year contract being over and I think Sprint is messing with my phone. I know it's crazy and my boyfriend thinks I'm a nut but it happens everytime I get close to my contract being over.

    2. Sometimes (two - three times a week i have to restart phone) my phone won't accept my inputs. Whether I using keypad to dial number or swype to enter texts. I hit keys but they dont show up, frustrating when I can't make calls or send text.

    3. Was hoping that rooting would fix these issues :) AND I had fun doing it with my Hero.
     
  5. Sisterwind

    Sisterwind Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    So basically I'm looking for a rom that looks like what I have now :)
     
  6. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,778
    3,758
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    So in other words your looking for a stock rom?

    If your still on GB (2.3.4) this is the rom you want

    http://dev-host.org/hqkar642vqrn

    Or if your on the latest ICS (4.0.4) this is the one you want

    http://d-h.st/vE5

    DS
     
    Sisterwind likes this.
  7. Sisterwind

    Sisterwind Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    Awesome :) That is what I needed :)

    So do you think I'm "nuts" for my rational?

    Reasons I want to root;
    1. LOL... I'm close to my two year contract being over and I think Sprint is messing with my phone. I know it's crazy and my boyfriend thinks I'm a nut but it happens everytime I get close to my contract being over.
     
  8. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,778
    3,758
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    What do you mean by sprint messing with your phone? Lol I've only been with sprint for a little over a year so I haven't experienced this yet if they do that :p

    DS
     
  9. Sisterwind

    Sisterwind Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    " Sometimes (two - three times a week i have to restart phone) my phone won't accept my inputs. Whether I using keypad to dial number or swype to enter texts. I hit keys but they dont show up, frustrating when I can't make calls or send text."

    The above just started happening about 2 months ago, funny because about 3 months ago I was thinking that I would not upgrade my phone because I liked it sooo much.
     
  10. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,778
    3,758
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    That could very well be parts of the digitizer/lcd starting to go out as it's somewhat of a common problem with the Evo 3d

    DS
     
    Sisterwind likes this.
  11. toad6386

    toad6386 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    361
    196
    88
    Male
    RFID FSE
    So Cen TX
    DS is almost certainly correct. I've replaced two on MY phone (got a "cheap" one first time and sat on it while in back pocket :( ) And I just ordered a new digitizer for my wife's as hers went ape this morning after a couple days similar to yours, sisterwind.

    If you have insurance or under warranty, I suggest trying a Sprint store first. It's not TOO hard to replace one, but stuff happens (somehow, I broke my volume down button repairing the first time). :mad:

    If not, you might be able to find a repair shop to do it for <100, for get a digitizer from Amazon or eBay for 20 or less. You can also get a digitizer/LCD combo for around 70 that makes it a LOT easier to change. There are several threads around that can assist with the swap, if you decide to take it on yourself. Good luck!
     
    Sisterwind likes this.
  12. Sisterwind

    Sisterwind Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    Hmmmmmmm, so a restart will correct the problem with the digitizer? and the only thing that it happens on is either the keypad for dialing or when I use swype. I never have problems with selecting apps on the screen. LOL I still think it's Sprint.
     
  13. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,778
    3,758
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    If it is your digitizer and sounds like it is, replacing the digitizer will be the only fix for it.

    And lol if sprint had more control other than modifying your service, that may be worth looking into lol but sprint can't control how the phone functions :p

    Take into account too, phones do tend to wear down over time, you've had your 3VO for nearly 2 years yes?

    With that being said, gonna have to side with your guy on this matter :vroam:

    DS
     
  14. toad6386

    toad6386 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    361
    196
    88
    Male
    RFID FSE
    So Cen TX
    Probably what's happening is "ghost touches" locking things up a bit. Go to settings/Developer options and turn on "show touches." You'll see a spot every time the phone registers a touch. You'll probably see more than you think. You can also further test it by downloading MultiTouch Tester from the play store. I'll be willing to bet your phone's overall performance isn't what it used to be either. I'm sorry to say I've the experience to know these things! :rolleyes:
     
    DragonSlayer95 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...