1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] Rooted or not?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by firegoalie23, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. firegoalie23

    firegoalie23 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    How can I tell. I have hboot 1.5 and I did the htc dev. im showing unlocked but S-ON. It gave me the superuser app in my menu. thanks for the help. im new to this.


    Richie
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dmoneyxxxx

    Dmoneyxxxx Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012

    Feb 3, 2012
    39
    13
    18
    You should be rooted. S-On is acceptable and will not interfere with most kernels/Roms. As long as Superuser is an your apps you should be okay. Might wanna make sure superuser is up to date.

    ==================================================
    Device: HTC EVO 3D AKA 3VO
    Rom: ZR3Dv2.2A
    Kernel: 2.6.35.13-g277012f htc-kernel@and18-2 #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Dec 12 15:59:16 CST 2011
    Recovery: 4EXT
    Baseband: 1.06.00.1216
    Build Number: 2.17.651.5 CL245066 release-keys
    Android Version: 2.3.4
    HTC Sense Version: 3.0
    H.Boot 1.5 Unlocked
    S-On
     
    firegoalie23 likes this.
  3. firegoalie23

    firegoalie23 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    ok was curious because when I tried to do titanium root or use any of the rooted apps,they came back saying I wasnt rooted.
     
  4. Dmoneyxxxx

    Dmoneyxxxx Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012

    Feb 3, 2012
    39
    13
    18
    firegoalie23 and jerofld like this.
  5. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    If you have SuperUser installed, but no apps detect root, then you don't have it properly configured. Generally, the SU patch that you probably flashed didn't flash properly. If you have no idea what I'm talking about, then it would probably be best to go through that guide and follow every step, except for step 4 (as you have already unlocked with HTC).
     
    firegoalie23 and Dmoneyxxxx like this.
  6. firegoalie23

    firegoalie23 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    thanks guys, so I just want to confirm I dont have to gu thru the token thing, i can just start with step 5 of that guide?
     
  7. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    I would recommend you start over from the beginning if you don't have mini-sdk and TWRP installed. The guide is written around using mini-sdk and TWRP, and the instructions are specific to them.

    But you can skip step 4. There is no need to flash the unlock token again while you're unlocked. Keep the token, you may have to unlock/relock later (like when ICS comes around.
     
    firegoalie23 likes this.
  8. firegoalie23

    firegoalie23 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    cool deal, thank you
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...