1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] Tiamat Kernel

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wake69, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    For those of you who are loving some evo 3d aosp roms, here is one of the best aosp kernels

    HTC Evo 3D
     

    Advertisement

    strat1227 likes this.
  2. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    I've heard this is by far the best

    Sorry for my lack of knowledge, but is this kernel compatible with CM7?
     
  3. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    aosp = android open source project

    roms that are aosp: miui, and cm7
     
  4. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    Hmm ok, I was under the impression that AOSP was the android base, bare-bones stock andriod, and every rom was based on that to some degree, with varying degrees of tweaks and such

    So I just wasn't sure if CM7 was "close" enough to pure AOSP to run it.

    Thanks for the info. Quick question, so you're saying Sense isn't built around AOSP?

    Looking forward to trying this out :)
     
  5. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    Sense is not aosp, that's why this kernel won't work. The framework of sense is built on aosp but the differences go deep into the system
     
  6. grepper

    grepper Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    56
    2
    16
    Automotive Dealership Management
    Midwest
    I loaded this, then lost WiFi. How can I restore previous kernel?
     
  7. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    Reflash cm, wiping cache and dalvik, not data
     
  8. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia

    What version are you using?
     
  9. grepper

    grepper Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    56
    2
    16
    Automotive Dealership Management
    Midwest
    I am running EvoNonSense ROM.
    I just flashed v1.0.1 of Tiamat.


    Let's make it more interesting... I thought I'd flash Remix kernel instead, now my E3D is stuck in reboot cycle. Starts up, brings up HTC white screen, then blinks off. Starts up, brings up HTC white screen, then blinks off. Starts up ... etc, etc.

    Yikes.

    H
     
  10. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia

    That is not an AOSP ROM, it is a sense stripped rom, there is a difference. You need to reflash that rom over what you have wiping cache and dalvik. If it doesn't say aosp in the title it is a sense stripped rom not aosp.
     
    grepper likes this.
  11. grepper

    grepper Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    56
    2
    16
    Automotive Dealership Management
    Midwest
    Wow. I've been wonderfully educated. Lol

    Rebooted and functioning again.

    Thanks all
     
  12. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    Oh ok so my basic understanding was correct?

    All roms are built around AOSP, but anything that doesn't specifically say AOSP is probably different enough that an AOSP kernel won't work (is what I'm understanding)

    I wasn't sure where CM7 fell on the scale, but now that I know it works I'm gonna try it out tonight
     
  13. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    that is the basic gist of it
     
    strat1227 likes this.
  14. thelonewizard

    thelonewizard Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    256
    49
    63
    Student
    Indiana
    AOSP---CM7----------------------------------------Sense

    It's a lot like that.
     
    strat1227 likes this.
  15. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    Are there advantages to flashing it manually over just using TeamWin's Kernal Manager?
     
  16. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    if its in km, its ok to flash
     
  17. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    I used km to try to flash tiamat and it just quasi-bricked my phone :/

    The only fix was to remove the battery and boot into the bootloader and flash my nandroid recovery

    If I were to manually flash tiamat, do I need to clear cache or anything before flashing it? Thanks
     
  18. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia

    Cache and dalvik
     
  19. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    Cool got it working, thanks for the help :)

    On a side note, can't wait for CM7 on touchpad lol :D
     
  20. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    for this kernel on the newest cm7 build, what's a good stable OC speed? I'm sitting at 1.35ghz right now

    I don't like asking info questions like this on forums instead of looking it up, but I couldn't find it anywhere (I guess because its pretty new)

    thanks guys
     
  21. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    you should be good up to 1.5ghz since thats what the processor is. now it may take a little testing to be sure, but i am running neither.
     
    strat1227 likes this.
  22. Spartanzz

    Spartanzz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    162
    12
    38
    i just got CM7 alpha 3 flashed and just flashed the kernel and everything works fine except the bluetooth and it worked before flashing tiamat. anyone else having this issue?
     
  23. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    wow didn't even know alpha 3 was out yet!

    I'll flash it tomorrow with tiamat and report back here
     
  24. Spartanzz

    Spartanzz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    162
    12
    38
    ok thx! he finally got BT working and i need my Bt for car rides both to make calls and i use my phone as a OBD2 scanner...but, id like to be able to overclock this thing but once again cant go without my bluetooth >.<
     
  25. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    Ok got it flashed with TIAMAT on there, bluetooth not working for me either. I didn't try it before i flashed tiamat so i can't be certain that's the problem, but when I try to turn on bluetooth it says "Turning on ..." then it just goes back to off

    I never use bluetooth though lol, so good for me :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...