1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] Trying to root HTC EVO 3d from rogers - unlocked bootloader

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by djk80, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. djk80

    djk80 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    6
    19
    8
    I have a rogers HTC evo 3d and I hear it comes with the booloader unlocked, source :
    Rogers HTC EVO 3D Will Have Unlocked Bootloader At Launch

    Android version
    2.3.4
    HTC Sense Version
    3.0
    Software number
    1.20.631.2

    Im not sure if my current software number/build applies to some of the threads on rooting it. Can anyone help ? Is it not easier to root if the bootloader unlocked? Havent seen to many threads on the rogers phones as of yet
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,434
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Welcome to the forums!

    You can confirm that your bootloader is s-off (unlocked) by going to Settings->Power and unchecking Fastboot, then power down phone - then power up while holding the volume down button.

    There seems to be some confusion about who has s-off phones and who does not, as well as the right rooting techniques to come - but there seems to no confusion that you're best to not try to treat your GSM 3D the same as our CDMA 3D phones where rooting and roms are concerned.

    Here's the development area you want to keep an eye on - it's tracking rooting status and you'll see roms getting ready for you -

    EVO 3D GSM Android Development - xda-developers

    If I understand this thread correctly, the idea is to just wait, the tools for you on likely coming soon -

    GSM-Only Android Development for EVO 3D - xda-developers

    But please read thru that and don't take my word, I've been known to make mistakes. ;) I'll gladly compare notes with you on that stuff, tho.

    Sounds like things are getting very close for you.
     
  3. djk80

    djk80 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    6
    19
    8
    Thanks for the info !! I will definitely checkout those links.

    I've done your recommended way of checking to see if the bootloader was unlocked and at the top of the screen in purple it says

    *** LOCKED ***
    SHOOTER_U PVT SHIP S-ON RL
    HBOOT 1.49.0008
    eMMC-Boot

    Then different options on fastboot, recovery, factory reset etc....

    so I am assuming the locked as the top means that its locked? I guess the rep was incorrect when they said the bootloader was going to be unlocked
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,434
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yep - locked for certain, no question.

    Well - good news is that one guy in that second link - he's working with one of developers, has photos of his phone both s-on and now s-off and says the tools are coming very, very soon!

    Keep me undated here on what you find out unless I run into you there first. :) ;)
     
  5. djk80

    djk80 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    6
    19
    8
    Seems like they found a unlock for the gsm 1.49.0008. Im going to try running this today see how it goes
     
  6. z50king

    z50king Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    126
    21
    38
    Student, Student Assistant
    Upland, CA
    SHOOTER_U means it's gsm

    Make sure you DO NOT use the cdma method to root the phone. you will brick it. someone tried the cdma method because they didn't read everything and was VERY LUCKY that it failed every time they tried it.
     
  7. djk80

    djk80 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    6
    19
    8
    Yep its tested and worked....I have it unlocked and rooted. Also installed a custom ROM already on it and have some apps installed....great stuff!
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  8. meme405

    meme405 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    61
    6
    16
    Vancouver, BC
    Did you use the regular CDMA method to root though? What steps did you follow or do you have a link to the Tut you went by? Im afraid of bricking the phone. I just want to get S-Off first and be able to delete all the bloatware i like sense for now and ill keep it.
     
  9. z50king

    z50king Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    126
    21
    38
    Student, Student Assistant
    Upland, CA
    I don't know what guy is which in this thread. I hear that currently there is no S-OFF for the Rogers .0008

    I like calling it the Triple-O-Eight
     
  10. meme405

    meme405 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    61
    6
    16
    Vancouver, BC
    Revolutionary now supports it, so your incorrect in thinking that.
     
  11. kulot

    kulot Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 13, 2012

    May 13, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    how do i do it I'm new at this,I'm running osx
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...