1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] twrp1.1.1 vs twrp2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Apollion, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. Apollion

    Apollion Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    So I just updated today to twrp 1.1.1 and now I hear there is a twrp2 should I go ahead and switch to the t2 version? I read it was touch screen operated, aside from that I couldn't tell if anything else is different.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    I couldn't find patch notes. But I like the touch screen UI, so I switched. Just haven't played with it too much, yet.

    Ah, found the patch notes:

    http://www.teamw.in/project/twrp2
     
    Apollion likes this.
  3. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    Oh my... That looks really nice!

    I never restore anything anyway so it looks like it's time to ditch 1.0.3. :)
     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,521
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,521
    8,394
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Damn sweet, I may have to give this a try now, damn it, lol



     
  5. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    Very nice... Backups are done in less than a quarter of the time. There are a few bugs detailed in the xda thread but none have affected me so far. They all seem minor against the huge improvements in form and function. I like it.
     
  6. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Yeah, the patch notes mentioned that NANDroid backups utilize both cores, which is just phenomenal.
     
  7. Apollion

    Apollion Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    Thanks for the replies ya'll. I went ahead and flashed twrp2 and everything is at least twice as fast. And that's great for a ROM hopper like me, but I gotta say cm7 butchered the recovery.img and I had to reflash the recovery. Thank god its impossible to brick this phone. That would have been the fourth time it nearly happened with cyanogen for me. But all-in-all the twrp2 is great.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  8. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    I even loaded twrp 2.0 on my Kindle Fire last night. It works just as flawlessly there as it does on my e3d. Those guys amaze me...
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  9. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    After playing with TWRP2, there are some things I miss from TWRP 1.1. Like the ability to queue zip files and the wipe cache/dalvik from the install menu (it shows up after you flash the first file...which is odd).

    Trying to wade through all the posts on XDA is near impossible. I wish people could just hit the Thanks button instead of posting a thanks message, but meh...

    There is a github account for submitting feedback, I think I'll do that later when I'm home from work. Posting a link for my own reference: https://github.com/TeamWin/Team-Win-Recovery-Project/issues
     
    Apollion likes this.
  10. Apollion

    Apollion Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    Quick question about ya'lls prossess do you command an recovery erase before flashing a new recovery. If so how? I'm so used to erasing things before flashing the new stuff and just wondering if I should do that recovery too.
     
  11. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    All I do to change recoveries is drop the pc86img.zip file on the root of the sd card and boot into the bootloader. It does everything else for you automatically. I don't wipe the old recovery because it overwrites what's there on it's own.
     
  12. Apollion

    Apollion Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    I have hboot 1.50 so its a bit more intricate than that, I've used flash image GUI to do a recovery image before but i feel the recovery "sticks" better through fastboot. I just figured if i did command
    fastboot erase recovery
    And then
    fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
    It would all work better what do you think
     
  13. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Yes, erase the recovery before flashing the new one. The zip file that most of us use does that for us.
     
    pushin30 and Apollion like this.
  14. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok so i had issues with twrp on my og evo that i'm now scared to use 2.0 on my evo 3d. you can read about my issues here:xda-developers - View Single Post - [RECOVERY] TeamWin Recovery Project (TWRP) 2.0RC0.3 [2012-1-4].

    but it also looks like twrp 2.0 will not get any more support:( also teamwin and agrabren are now parting ways:( TeamWin Blog | TeamWin. however, agrabren is now working on his own and is planning on working on a version of twrp 2.0 and he is calling it for now phoenix:) you can read his blog here:Rebooting in Recovery: TWRP: The final chapter...

    so it is back to 1.1 for me until phoenix is out.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...