1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] Ugh. Failed - Go have some Lemonade, but got s-off?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NeoteriX, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    I'm not sure what the "Failed - Go have some Lemonade" part refers to, but my device says I have S-OFF (in particular "shooter xc ship s-off rl") Figuring that was the most important part, I tried flashed Team Win Recovery, which appears to have worked. However, upon a reboot, the phone hangs at the white sprint screen. Sigh. How did I screw this up?

    edit: Still hangs, but TWRP v1.0.3 flashed correctly as far as I can tell. I can get into it, I made a Nandroid backup, but it still hangs at the white sprint screen. Plugging the phone into a power source does not bring up the power LED.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    I guess I spoke too soon. It actually does boot if I wait several minutes... is the boot supposed to be this long?

    I've been able to get Superuser and everything, though my phone had the Error 16 which is in the process of being resolved now...

    edit: Error 16 resolved.

    I timed the boot... is it really supposed to be over 3:30 on the final Sprint screen? (~3:44 for the full boot up)

    edit2: Wiping cache/dalvik does nothing to reduce the boot times.
     
  3. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    No, it shouldn't. Does your bootloader have the Revolutionary banner above where it says "SHIP S-OFF"?

    If so, make a NANDroid and try installing a ROM. Preferably one that is zipaligned. The first boot after installing any ROM will be slow, so don't worry about the first one. The second one, though, should be pretty quick. It takes about 45 seconds for my phone to boot, but I haven't timed it, so I may be off on that. But it definitely sounds like something got screwed up when you applied SU. It may be due to Revolutionary failing to fully install.

    If that fails, or you're just uneasy about Revolutionary's banner not being there and the process failing, try running revolutionary again.
     
    NeoteriX and EarlyMon like this.
  4. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    Thanks for the input -- I should've mentioned this earlier as well (it was late ;) ) but yes, the Revolutionary banner is there as well. Honestly, the Recovery mod (TWRP) works, superuser works, the phone is functional and rooted (wireless tether, titanium backup, shootme all work and have SU access too).

    I'm not sure if it's me trying to convince myself, but now that I think about it, the unrooted bootup was perhaps long as well.

    Thing is, I don't plan on flashing a new ROM in the near future, I only wanted SU access for importing game and other app save files and data from the Evo 4G, screenshots via shootme (though the new update apparently moots this), wireless tether, etc.

    Could some legit app or combination of apps be causing the startup slow down? I do vaguely remember the stock bootup being much faster than this.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  5. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Ok, so it sounds like everything is working for you, maybe that is the error message if it can't flash CWM? My revolutionary did flash CWM successfully, so I never saw that.

    My bootups before I installed a zipaligned ROM were long, too. Maybe not 3:30 long, but felt like it took forever. Now it takes less than a minute and the phone is booted. Sense takes a bit to boot after that, though. So that may be the cost of not installing a ROM. I get that, I never installed a custom ROM on my DX. I just installed leaked 'official' builds.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Some roms will clear Dalvik cache automagically on installation. Whenever Dalvik is cleared, bootup takes longer, that's normal. Typical boot time for me is on the order of 1 minute 20 seconds - both cpu cores will run at maximum during at least a part of that time, so it is what it is.
     
  7. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    Unfortunately, for me the 3:45 bootup time is pretty much the way it's been after several reboots and davlik/cache clears. Thoughts?
     
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Hmm. Maybe give it a day or two of just normal use, then reboot to see the new time required.
     
  9. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    Aside from the recent OEM update and the Radio, are there any other suggested things to update?

    When doing a Nandroid, is it advised to back everything up, or can one get away with selecting less options (TWRP, Team Win Recovery Project)? A full Nandroid is over 2 gigs and takes quite a bit of time investment.
     
  10. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    I would back up everything on your first back up. Sequential backups would really only need /data and perhaps /system if you changed android settings or applied some sort of mod.

    Although, I clear cache and dalvik when doing a backup. Caches can be rebuilt relatively quickly and can actually lead to problems if they're not cleared out.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  11. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I followed the instructions here -

    http://androidforums.com/evo-3d-all...1-2-rom-updates-post-em-here.html#post3097134

    And I cleared Dalvik.

    Later in that thread I have a link to our old bud freeza's kernel - I'm planning on trying that out later today.

    Nandroids:

    With every major change, such as to your radios - I personally recommend a full nandroid backup.

    Just keep one at a time on your sd card if space is an issue - you can always roll things on and off of your Mac/PC/Linux by drag&drop of the backup.

    Once you get your full backup whenever you change firmware, you can just backup what you need when rom flashing (/system and maybe /data if TWRP allows that and the rom indicates changes there).

    Commercial: I think those kind of strategies can be really advantageous - but I don't like to think, so I just use Clockwork (lacks TWRP incremental backup options) and just do the whole shebang - I always have plenty of external storage and don't care about the extra time. Your mileage may vary, choose the recovery/nandroid that's right for you. :)

    Note to Mac users:

    Depending upon your OS rev and possibly Finder options, deleting a backup while mounted as a disk drive really just moves things to .Trashes on your sd card. For true obliteration, I use Astro File Manager.
     
  12. z50king

    z50king Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    126
    21
    38
    Student, Student Assistant
    Upland, CA
    Whoa. I'm on viper and it fully starts and all apps load in 34-35 seconds for me
     
  13. wase4711

    wase4711 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    801
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    801
    157
    93
    outside chicaago
    there is a program in the market called "Startup Auditor", that allows you to control what does and doesn't start up when your phone boots.
    Set it up so that only the important system stuff starts up on boot, and see if that helps your times..
     
    NeoteriX likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...