1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] Whats a safe max scalling to set on setcpu?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SMALBA, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. SMALBA

    SMALBA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    253
    16
    38
    Utah
    I just flashed a new kernel and It's letting set the max mhz scalling higher than the default 1188 mhz. I don't want to overclock my CPU and have my phone crash.
     

    Advertisement

  2. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    Every phone's tolerance will be different. Mine appears to be stable at 1700. I haven't pushed it any harder than that.

    If your phone does crash, it's not a big deal. Typically, it just reboots. Don't use the set at boot option in SetCPU and you'll be able to adjust the value back down to something stable on the next reboot.
     
    ocnbrze and SMALBA like this.
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah mine is stable at 1782 with no issues. like novox77 said every phone is different.
     
  4. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    I've been stable to 1700 too but I odn't leave it overclocked for daily driving. Overclocking uses more battery and makes more heat. That's 2 side effects that I don't want in my phone. If I'm running a benchmark I'll overclock it for a short bit but that's only once every blue moon. Honestly I can't tell the difference for day to day use when it's overclocked anyway.

    Word on the street is the chip in our phones was designed to run at 1.5 but they underclocked it for our phone for some reason.

    If anythign I like to set the phone to underclock when it's not being used much to save battery life. I run it down as far as 384mhz with ondemand scaling.
     
  5. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    They underclocked it for power saving purposes, or as the rumor had it during the pre-release speculations.

    I think the governor matters more than max scale range. I like the conservative governor, and have a profile set to set the max scaling frequency at 500 when the screen is off. But if you want response time, interactive seems to be good for that.
     
  6. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    I ran conservative for a while but I had a few apps that the cpu wouldn't scale up in for some reason. In ondemand it still slows down when you're not doing much but it scales up appropriately in all of my apps. Conservative definitely keeps it lower longer, which would maximize battery life even more but I wanted it to be transparent.
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i like smartass myself as a governor. it has a built in screen off profile. and i do not have any profiles running as well. too many is counterproductive.
     
  8. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    I haven't used SetCPU for 5 months. I honestly don't see much improvement between SetCPU governance and stock in terms of battery life. Not saying there's no difference... just that I don't really perceive one.
     
  9. AndroidStyle

    AndroidStyle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012

    Jan 19, 2012
    6
    6
    6
    You think higher ghz better speed?
    Some phones show better performance at lower CPU speed, all phones are different so u gotta find the speed that is stable for you...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...