1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] Wifi says "error"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Putty, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. Putty

    Putty Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    832
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    832
    56
    78
    OH--IO
    I cannot connect to any network. Rebooted, pulled battery...nothing seems to work. Anyone know a fix?
     

    Advertisement

  2. joeykrim

    joeykrim Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    89
    15
    18
    When I've experienced this issue its because my wifi module was mismatched with my kernel.

    If you've loaded a custom kernel and a custom ROM, I would re-load the custom kernel which should also load its required module.
    Each custom kernel comes with modules, including wifi. Some custom ROMs might overwrite the custom kernel's wifi module, depending on how the ROM is setup.

    Also, logcat will generally show some detail around the Wifi error.

    Hope that helps!
     
    novox77 likes this.
  3. Putty

    Putty Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    832
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    832
    56
    78
    OH--IO
    That may be my problem. I tried to load a RCREMIX kernel and it failed. That's when this started. Phone booted as normal though. I will reload the stock kernel.
     
  4. William T Riker

    William T Riker Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    476
    130
    68
    Male
    East Coast USA
    same thing happened to me, I just restored to my last backup and all was fine again.
     
  5. Putty

    Putty Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    832
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    832
    56
    78
    OH--IO
    Yup! The failed kernel install caused this. Working now.
     
  6. tonyp4420

    tonyp4420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I have a newly rooted evo 3d and am attempting to flash some custom roms, but am getting this wifi data error after flashing.

    I haven't installed any custom kernels. The only thing I've done is just flash several custom roms; synergy, viper, etc.. Every time, I get the wifi data error.

    I can restore to my initial backup and wifi works just fine, but I want to put custom roms on the phone of course, so anyone have any ideas?
     
  7. Putty

    Putty Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    832
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    832
    56
    78
    OH--IO
    This is a kernel issue from what I found. Are you flashing roms that are built for the base you are on? 2.3.3 or 2.3.4....I have never gotten the error flashing a rom.
     
  8. jlear3

    jlear3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    77
    17
    18
    I have the stock kernel and still getting wifi issue with viperRom : 0
     
  9. tonyp4420

    tonyp4420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I decided to flash the latest version of the RCMix kernel, but got some errors. Since I got some errors, I decided to try silverneedle instead and that flashed just fine, but I'm still getting the wifi error.

    This really is frustrating, I've been waiting to test out some roms, but no wifi is a big issue that I can't live without.

    Is there a specific combo of kernel/rom that is recommended or a certain order the kernel/rom needs to be flashed?
     
  10. Putty

    Putty Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    832
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    832
    56
    78
    OH--IO
    Are you on 2.08.651.2? If so, I suggest you use flash the superwipe zip and totally clean your phone. Then I would flash Clean 2.0 and leave do not flash another kernel. This is what I have done and not getting any errors.
     
  11. tonyp4420

    tonyp4420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I do have that version.

    I have heard of Superwipe, but haven't heard of clean 2.0, do you have a link to some more information or the download?

    I am going to flash superwipe right now and test it with a stock kernel and synergy rom. If that goes smooth, I will try to flash the kernel after I verify the wifi is working.

    Thanks for your help
     
  12. jlear3

    jlear3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    77
    17
    18
    I found out last night that I was using roms/kernels fro the 2.3.3 version of android, theres a new kernel. so if you've updated to the current ota you need to put a 2.3.4 rom on your phone, worked for me!
     
  13. Putty

    Putty Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    832
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    832
    56
    78
    OH--IO
    EarlyMon likes this.
  14. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Ok, so Superwipe is a way to clean your phone, the Clean rom is an actual rom.

    Info you want on cleaning and wiping here:

    http://androidforums.com/evo-3d-all-things-root/395021-flashing-sequence.html

    http://androidforums.com/evo-3d-all-things-root/388250-question-about-wiping.html

    Putty's already provided the link to the Clean rom in the post above this one. :)

    Public Service Announcement!

    Correct - never mismatch roms and kernels.

    Therefore - always make a nandroid backup before changing things.

    A kernel mismatch can leave you bootlooping with only your recovery methods to save you.

    Make sure yours are up-to-date! :) ;)
     
    novox77 likes this.
  15. tonyp4420

    tonyp4420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Ok, so I've used superwipe, both cwm and team win recoveries, flashed clean/synergy/viper/supra roms, and verified I was using the correct corresponding kernel to match the rom all with no luck and that dang wifi error.

    I am not quite sure what the issue could be at this point, but I have restored and am going to either wait until someone else has this problem and resolves it or until a new phone comes out...I'm done spending countless hours dealing with it. ; )

    Thanks though for all your responses, I really do appreciate trying to help.
     
  16. Putty

    Putty Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    832
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    832
    56
    78
    OH--IO
    I honestly think you are flashing rom for a base that you are not on. Post a screenshot of your software information.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  17. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Also verify your wifi password - and reset the router, btw.
     
  18. jlear3

    jlear3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    77
    17
    18
  19. Edgarted

    Edgarted Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Im having this same issue that i tried installing this custom kernel and it failed. My problem is that my dumb*ss didnt do a backup before installing it and now i cant restore to when it was working...any suggestions of what i should do?
     
  20. Putty

    Putty Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    832
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    832
    56
    78
    OH--IO
    If you did the update a few weeks ago...there are no custom kernels for it yet. I suggest you flash a rom and leave the built in kernel in place...that should restore you back to working.
     
  21. tonyp4420

    tonyp4420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Couldn't take it any longer, I just had to figure this thing out. After playing around with it a bit more, I found out that people who ran the OTA update can only get custom ROMs based on the 2.3.4 OS instead of 2.3.3. This leaves the newest build of Synergy and very few others.

    I haven't had enough time to verify, but I think there is a way to flash the hboot to a previous version that allows custom ROMs based on 2.3.3, which also allows an overclockable kernel.

    As of now, I'm running synergy's newest build, wifi working : ). I also tried CursedDragon's new version based on 2.3.4 and SupraROM which I thought was extremely speedy, but had issues with force close and contacts syncing.

    I also can't wait until CyanogenMod comes out!
     
  22. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    if your bootloader is 1.5 you can not downgrade
     
  23. joedaddy

    joedaddy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011

    Nov 7, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    plz help! im having the same issues with the wifi i also tried to flash the RCREMIX kernel and it failed but now i cannot connect my wifi it just says error. Ive tried everything even a factory restore but nothing, i didnt backup with nandroid i noobed it out is there anything i can do??? can i restore with sum1 elses file or maybe sum1 send me the stock kernell????
     
  24. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia

    To reflash the kernel, you have to boot into recovery through fastboot
     
  25. joedaddy

    joedaddy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011

    Nov 7, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Dude can you get any less detailed? What kernel do i flash it with where can i download it? i got a htc evo 3d gsm with 1.49.1107 hboot, radio 10.13.9020 and i think i really f****ed it up, im stuck in a brick loop now can only boot through recovery, i tried to flash kerenel with PG86IMG.zip
    didnt work still in boot loop, any help would be much appreciated.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...